BUSH'S® Red, White and Bean Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was so good! I had to improvise a bit since I did not have everything in the kitchen, but still was outstanding. I did not have pesto, zucchini or Cannellini beans so I left them out and did not miss them. I only had pork sausage, which I added close to a 1lb., 1/4 cup does not seem like enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This soup is fabulous! I've made it 3 times and it is always a winner with my husband and son. I did not use the pesto, but I can tell you that it's great without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would. Super easy to make & with little kids, I don't have time to chop up everything & do a ton of dishes so I threw all of it into the crockpot. I only made a few changes because I wanted to empty out my freezer. We skipped the pesto & Parmesan completely. Added a cup of frozen turkey (leftover from Christmas)- cut up into small pieces, chicken would work well too. Instead of zucchini, I just put an entire box of frozen spinach in. I also chopped up the celery, carrots, garlic, & onion together in a food processor - easy to hide the veggies from the kids that way. Threw about 2 cups of uncooked bowtie noodles in & cooked on low for 5 hours. My kids thought it was as good as Olive Garden's minestrone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
We all loved this! Left out the sausage and it was still great...did add a bit of Italian blend seasoning, more garlic and a dash of cayanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmurfyGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by TRISTINAK
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for me and the kids on Christmas Eve...my house smelled great all day. The kids not only ate the soup, but were dipping their garlic bread into the broth to get the last bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great dish with some substitutions for items I didn't have on hand. Everything into the slow cooker with no browning 1st. Turkey legs instead of sausage cooked with all then meat removed from bones; no white beans added; mushrooms added at end of cooking; no pesto added. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good minestrone! I used 4 cans of reduced sodium chicken broth, drained/rinsed both cans of beans and used all of the red kidney beans, and used dried basil instead of oregano (I didn't have any oregano on hand). I also left out the spinach, and cooked on high for 3.5-4 hours. Great dinner with some garlic bread! I may add some green beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ekp333
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made a vegetarian version of this without the turkey sausage. I substituted yellow squash for the zucchini because that's what I had and egg noodles for the bowtie pasta because I had some leftover that I needed to use up. It did not taste like much until I added the cheese. I did just notice that I was not supposed to drain and rinse the cannellini beans, which may have made a difference in the flavor. I will make this again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekp333

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Delicious! I just made a few changes. I used regular pork sausage in place of the turkey. I also added garbanzo beans. I didn't use the pesto but added fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
a very easy recipe. i add the pesto, onions and garlic to the olive oil at the very begining with a couple of teaspoons of hot sauce just to give it a little bite. then fallow the rest and at the end i added the mini bow tie pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDRIC69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States