BUSH'S® Caribbean One-Pot Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was wonderful! I started with the meat and just threw everything else in the pot (did not pre-cook the potatoes). I did not make the pinapple stuff but put in green apple at the very end. Loved the sweet spicy taste of this stew! The pork was to die for and did not have to thicken at all. A great way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This has great ing. but there is something missing in it. I didn't add hot sauce like some suggested just because I'm really not a hot sauce person, but it does need something. I added extra cumin and pepper but it just wasn't enough. I might try it again adding more spices. There is no need to precook the potatoes. I just tossed them in with everything else and they ended up being more than done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Wow! This was good! Followed the recipe to a T, except i peeled and cubed the sweet potato and added it right to the pot and it cooked beautifully in the simmering stew. If you like more heat add a whole jalapeno. I Highly recommend you try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a very good stew! and lovely with all the colors, even if it is a lot of chopping. My comments: there is no need to cook the sweet potatoes separately. Just peel and cut them up, and add with the rest of the veggies. They will be done by the time the pork is done. This recipe is excellent (and quicker) with the addition of 2 cups chopped cooked ham, instead of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
For the beans I used 1 can kidney, 1 can black and 1 can chickpeas. I also used 4 serranos instead of jalapeno. Are supermarket peppers getting more mild or is it just me? I should have put in at least 2 more. Added a couple bay leaves, touch of allspice and dried parsley. Followed the cooking instructions as written, but next time I will do the procedure a bit different. I will brown the meat in batches as the first step. As written the garlic started to burn before I could get a good sear, and the pot is too crowded to get a good fond. Also I think I will peel and cut up the sweet potatoes first before microwaving, just for ease in handling. I found I wanted to thicken it at the end since it was very soupy, and just used some cornstarch dissolved in water. Still, the finished stew even though not perfect was delicious and very gorgeous with all those colors! It just seems these flavors belong together. I feel healthier just looking at it: Nutrient City! I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Great!!! Made with black beans and I thickened with the softened butter and flour as suggested! Cold day here in Georgia and this recipe was a real warmer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
A Winner! Followed exactly except for using 2 cans of beans. Remember this is BUSH's recipe. They are pushing their beans - which are good. At the end I thickened the sauce by trying a new method (new for me that is!)that I saw the Barefoot Contessa use on TV. With a fork combine 2 tablespoons of softened butter with 3 tablespoons of flour and then add a little at a time to the sauce to reach the thickness you desire. It might be adding more calories but it does keep the richness of the stew going!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Yum! I had to cut out any heat from the pot of stew but kicked it up per bowl as needed per person with hot sauce.This was very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was a very good recipe (with out changing anything) to make on a weekend. It takes a little too long to make during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States