BUSH'S® Backyard Black Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Using my propane grill, I made a pile of these Black Bean Burgers, and they were a huge hit! Gone forever are the days of the simple ground beef patty. I served them with out buns and sides of beans, broccoli, and avocado for a low card feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very tasty. Probably the best homemade black bean burger recipe I've ever eaten. However, I think it is the corn meal, but something amplifies the power of the bean on ones digestive system and everyone was suffering all night with its effects. OK for family, don't torture guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I added one egg to this recipe so that it would stick together better. I have tried several black bean burger recipes and this was the best I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe saved my sanity... I was trying to find a recipe that did NOT include an egg, aswe just found out our son is highly allergic to most everything... except for blackbeans! I also modified it to elliminate the corn meal and salsa (he's also allergic to corn and tomatoes). I subbed bread crumbs for the corn meal, and green beans, lemon juice, and fresh garlic for the salsa. I know it's weird, but it had to be done. They cooked up well on the George Foreman grill - no problems with crumbling. So subs can be made with no problems in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Great recipe! These tasted excellent, stayed together when grilling. I also froze some of the leftover grilled burgers with a seal a meal. We had the burgers in a bun with onion, lettuce and condiments. I would highly recommend this recipe....heart healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
There are other better recipes for black bean burgers. These tasted fine but never stuck together on the grill, basically made a black bean sludge. Adding bread crumbs to the black beans normally makes them stick together. I will probably try a recipe like that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I fried these on a non-stick griddle, and didn't have any problems with them falling apart. I will probably add more garlic when I make them again. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
A good start...I added some minced fresh garlic (instead of garlic salt), lime juice, and chopped fresh cilantro, sprinkled with regular salt and pepper and cut back on the cumin a bit...served in toasted pitas with lettuce, tomato, guacamole, and chili sauce instead of ketchup. You might try adding a bit more flour or cornmeal if the mixture seems too wet (my modifications added some liquid). I also used an indoor Foreman grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I've had black bean burgers in the past and this recipe was the best!! I made the burgers for fourth of July and they were a hit! However to keep the burgers from falling through the grill I used a grilling mat with holes in it over the grill!! The burgers turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Don't make this if you want a burger experience. The burger did not stick together and made a mess on the grill. I ended up making bean burritos out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States