BLT Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this to go with homemade chunky tomato soup. I used Bagel Thins and thick sliced hickory smoke bacon. The kids thought this was great. Very easy supper idea. EDITED: Because I now eat low carb, I omit the bread and I like to spread a tiny amount of mayonnaise on a big piece of lettuce, then wrap the bacon and tomato inside the lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My husband's all time favorite not to mention mine as well! I use thick cut bacon, add salt and pepper to the tomato, and lightly toast the bread - it's a classic that you never grow tired of and shouldn't mess with... It's a plain, simple, straightforward recipe and when you want a BLT, you want a BLT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is one of my all time favorite sandwiches! Sure, it may be a "classic" to some, but not everyone cooks the same cuisine, so THANK YOU, MOTTSBELA, for posting a great classic that some may assume *everyone* already knows how to make. I hope someone learns the joy of eating a nice bacony BLT as the result of your post! (I do prefer to bake my bacon in the oven, though, for nice flat strips w/less stove top mess).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I add salt and pepper to the tomato before closing the sandwich, and put mayo on both pieces of bread. Easy and delicious. A staple in the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Yummo!!! The best is with thick sliced applewood bacon, homegrown tomatoes, thick fresh bread and hellmans mayo!!!! ROCK ON......... mmm.. I think I know whats for dinner tonight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
BLT's are the best. I love to add avacado to mine! YUMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aquarian_Mommax2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This has become my favorite sandwich. I use Dark German bread, make a spread with mayo and mustard, romaine lettuce, turkey bacon and fresh tomatoes, but what makes it even better is adding fresh avacado. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
If your doing BL&T's for a family try doing the bacon in the oven,on parchment paper, pan with a lip, lay it out, bake for about 20 minutes. You don't have to turn it just let it get crisp. White pepperidge farm bread, toasted hell mans mayo, big tomatoes from somebody's garden, leaf lettuce and its the best. Summer is here when your eating this sammi. Supper tonight,yes!Thanks for reminding me Mottsbela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is a great standard recipe. The key for this sandwich is the quality of the ingredients. (Home Grown Tomatoes). My favorite BLT sandwich came from a restaurant up in Carmel, ca. I found out that they notched it up with a very thin layer of peanut butter, on one slice of the bread, and between the lettuce and tomatoes, they added thinly sliced Maui onion. Since I am not a peanut butter fan, I can't believe how much I love this sandwich. But I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
It's pretty straightforward, this is a BLT. Sometimes there's not much better than a BLT with home grown tomatoes in the summer. For me it's gotta have Duke's mayonnaise and salt & pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States