BLT Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Wonderful summer treat. Best if the tomatoes drip down your arm. I put cream cheese on one of the slices of bread. Or for childhood memories - just the tomato and mayo. Peanut butter and bacon, or cucumber or banana. Gee, I've forgotten many good things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The only way to improve this old classic is by using English muffin toasting bread and Miracle Whip. One of our summertime favs....especially with our home grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royalton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
We have found that using toasted brat buns is so much better than regular bread. Plus the size and shape of a brat bun accomodates 2 slices of bacon nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
As others have said, this is a great classic recipe. I use center cut bacon (lower fat) and guacamole instead of mayo. I like it on thick sliced french or sourdough bread, but may try some of the other suggestions here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Fake, vegetarian bacon? To each their own. I like the real deal and have recently found an uncured bacon without nitrates or nitrites sold in grocery stores by Oscar Mayer. Make my own mayonnaise. If I hadn't been late getting my seeds started, the tomatoes would be here instead of waiting for ripening. Giving 5 stars as this is what a summer sandwich is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've also used fresh French Bread (sliced diagonally and not toasted), bacon from my local butcher, fresh tomatoes from my garden, Romaine lettuce, and then skip the Mayo -- I garnish with lots of hamburger dill slices. Wow! All the food flavors really stand out and it is a Summertime must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
BLT is my favorite sandwich! I too use the vegetarian "Facon" as we like to call it! I add sliced avocado, salt and pepper to my naturally sprouted flourless toasted bread. Cannot believe it tastes so good because it is so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
No, we are not kidding. Peanut butter instead of the mayo on a good, toasted sourdough makes my heart sing! Sometimes we sjugo w/ bacon and pb on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ninarose
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
To make this a little healthier I use turkey bacon which I lay on a flat nonstick cooking sheet and bake at 400 for 10-12 minutes. Still tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninarose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampden, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
My Mom used to make our BLT's open-faced; then she would heat up Campbell's Cheddar Cheese soup (made with milk), and pour it over the BLT's! Still my favorite way to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States