BLT Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
For me, this had far too much flour and made the broth very goopy. This was easily fixed with some more base and water. I did find I wanted a stronger tomato flavor so added a spoonful of homemade tomato sauce to the soup... perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I was VERY skeptical about adding lettuce to a soup, but it really does work in this soup. Try it! It was excellent, my husband loved it so much he has already asked for it again. The main modifications I made were to use more of what was called for in the recipe (more bacon, more tomatoes, a bit of extra water). I skipped the margerine, just didn't seem necessary with the bacon grease. I also garnished with some tomato flavored croutons. This one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I have made this recipe many, many times and my family LOVES it!!! It is a little time consuming to make but it is worth the effort! I serve with bacon pieces on top. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This tasted pretty good and was easy to make. I substituted - 1/4cup butter and 1/4cup milk instead of half-and-half - water in roughly the same amount as grease (in lieu of bacon grease) - 14oz can of chicken broth instead of the chicken soup base and water the recipe calls for. The actual serving size of the recipe is smaller than 8 servings, more like 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Great Recipe! But I didn't saute the lettuce, instead I just chopped it and used it as a garnish for the soup. That way it stays crispy and fresh. Also, I chopped up the bacon and added extra bacon as well. This one is something wonderfully different. A little place here in town serves this once in a while and they say it is their most popular and most requested soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was a really different recipe... but i love it! I added more bacon, a little more cayenne, 1 avocado, 1 teaspoon caraway seeds ground, a dash of garlic powder, a few slices of smoked gouda, a couple ounces of cream cheese - all the things I like on my sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Interesting and different soup. I can see why some may not care for this as much as the lettuce when cooked become "wilted" in both appearance and texture. I used a little more chicken stock, added some dry minced onions (when I added the water) and more bacon, which I crumbled and mixed INTO the soup when I added the half & half. Needed a little S&P but overall, it was a good soup and it was enjoyed. Thanks Lonnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great recipe. Restaurant quality and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
this is a great soup i use this at my job and i cook for a living but some people like this and some dont try with toast points for a garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
A lot of steps to get this one done but worth the effort on the cold nights. I actually doubled the recipe and added more chicken base and spices. It does have the BLT taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States