BLT Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
For me, this had far too much flour and made the broth very goopy. This was easily fixed with some more base and water. I did find I wanted a stronger tomato flavor so added a spoonful of homemade tomato sauce to the soup... perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I was VERY skeptical about adding lettuce to a soup, but it really does work in this soup. Try it! It was excellent, my husband loved it so much he has already asked for it again. The main modifications I made were to use more of what was called for in the recipe (more bacon, more tomatoes, a bit of extra water). I skipped the margerine, just didn't seem necessary with the bacon grease. I also garnished with some tomato flavored croutons. This one is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I have made this recipe many, many times and my family LOVES it!!! It is a little time consuming to make but it is worth the effort! I serve with bacon pieces on top. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This tasted pretty good and was easy to make. I substituted - 1/4cup butter and 1/4cup milk instead of half-and-half - water in roughly the same amount as grease (in lieu of bacon grease) - 14oz can of chicken broth instead of the chicken soup base and water the recipe calls for. The actual serving size of the recipe is smaller than 8 servings, more like 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Great Recipe! But I didn't saute the lettuce, instead I just chopped it and used it as a garnish for the soup. That way it stays crispy and fresh. Also, I chopped up the bacon and added extra bacon as well. This one is something wonderfully different. A little place here in town serves this once in a while and they say it is their most popular and most requested soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Colona, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was a really different recipe... but i love it! I added more bacon, a little more cayenne, 1 avocado, 1 teaspoon caraway seeds ground, a dash of garlic powder, a few slices of smoked gouda, a couple ounces of cream cheese - all the things I like on my sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Interesting and different soup. I can see why some may not care for this as much as the lettuce when cooked become "wilted" in both appearance and texture. I used a little more chicken stock, added some dry minced onions (when I added the water) and more bacon, which I crumbled and mixed INTO the soup when I added the half & half. Needed a little S&P but overall, it was a good soup and it was enjoyed. Thanks Lonnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Great recipe. Restaurant quality and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
this is a great soup i use this at my job and i cook for a living but some people like this and some dont try with toast points for a garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
A lot of steps to get this one done but worth the effort on the cold nights. I actually doubled the recipe and added more chicken base and spices. It does have the BLT taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States