BLT Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Very yummy recipe. I now get requests for it...made a couple adjustments though...use mayonnaise and ranch dressing and add more than recipe calls for since it gets absorbed by the pasta. Also- use farfelle pasta and also add peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I like this recipe. More importantly, my husband LOVES this recipe. It is terribly simple to make, which is a plus. However, I have made a few changes as I have made this recipe again. I thought the pasta soaked up too much of the dressing as it sat and it kindof lost it's ranch flavor. I add more ranch as it sits until it is the consistency I like. Also, I started using Bacon Ranch to up the ranch flavor. Also, I use green onions instead of regular onions, and add about 2 cups of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I brought this to a potluck and everyone loved it. I think it tastes best with the packaged ranch dressing mix, adding buttermilk and mayo to it, rather than bottled ranch. Also, next time I think I'd add sharp cheddar cheese to it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I make this pretty much the same, only I do half mayo, half sour cream and add a double batch of homemade dry ranch seasoning mix. I don't usually keep shell pasta on hand--elbow macaroni is usually the pasta I'll use. I like to use either red or green onions in this salad recipe. If you can, make this earlier in the day so it has time to set and really let the flavors work together. EDITED: I make this "lighter" now making the dressing from a mixture of nonfat greek yogurt, lowfat mayonnaise and reduced fat sour cream for the dressing, turkey bacon and whole wheat pasta. My family actually prefers the lower fat version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very good recipe! I added chopped celery and pre-chopped the bacon before frying it. Also, the Kraft Ranch with bacon dressing tastes great for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2CHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frazee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I also used the baccon ranch dressing. I added frozen peas, chopped celery, red onion and extra dressing. I used whole wheat pasta because its what I had on hand, and no one could tell. Everyone loved it, and it is super easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by E_Engle
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My husband and I loved it! We ate it for lunch several days after. We used Rotini noodles instead to add some color. (See picture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E_Engle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I really liked this recipe. I have never made home-made pasta salad before. It was super easy. I really like italian dressing and my husband loves ranch.. so I did 1 cup ranch and 1/2 cup italian. It turned out wonderful. We ate it before refrigerating it and loved it. A few hours later we got it back out and it was pretty dry and not as good. We will add more dressing before eating it again. No biggie. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Great pasta salad! I used green onion and along with some cherry tomatoes, I used a whole bag of thawed petite sweet peas. I made my own ranch dressing using Hidden Valley Ranch packets, milk, and mayonaisse. After it refrigerated, it was delicious - husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and am very happy with it. Yes, I did add more dressing to equal out the amount of pasta, and instead of frying the pound of bacon, I just added a package of the real bacon bits. This gave me more of the 'bacon' taste I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States