BLT Bacon Bowls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Did not work out so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made these today for Superbowl and they turned out great!! would cut the bacon into bigger squares next time. Other than that I did everything the same, except mixed mayo in with the lettuce.....yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Skipped the cheese and mixed the lettuce and tomato with a little bit of mayonnaise. Tasted just like a BLT without the bread. I used a muffin tin turned upside down on a cookie sheet. It took about 40 minutes for the bacon to get crisp. I figured that the cookie sheet restricted the heat somewhat therefore taking longer to cook. It didn't matter they still came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Ummmm what's better than bacon? A BOWL MADE OF BACON. What a super-genius idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Made these for SB XLVI...everyone loved them. I didn't use the cheese, and instead of foil, I used muffin cups. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
yum! Made these tonight and put in the Fresh Express apple cheddar salad in each one and served with a dinner we had with friends. The combo of the Bacon and Apple and cheese was excellent. and since it was a quick to put together salad mix I did not mind the time it took to make the bacon baskets at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang-in-GA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
great idea, but they did NOT turn out like that for me. they fell apart :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meow173

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
So fabulous. Ok, so your house might smell like bacon, but these are truly wonderful. I put a little squirt of mayo on the bottom of the cups before i put in the lettuce and tomato. Also, my bacon generally needs about 20-30 mins to bake. I take a piece of bacon and cut it in thirds. Halfs is too bit but sometimes thirds is a bit small to put over the mini muffin tins. But this size is perfect for one big bite. I brought it to three different holiday parties and it was the first app to go. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
AWESOME! This is a BLT without the bread. (You could add croutons). I made a 6 slice by 6 slice mat on a piece of parchment paper. Then cut through the paper and bacon with kitchen shears, making 4 bowls. I flopped the bacon mats on the backside of oven-safe "monkey dishes" (little ramekins) and peeled off the parchment paper. I baked it at 350 until it browned (350 so my dishes wouldn't break). Then I put the mat of bacon inside the dish and back in the oven to get the other side browned. Be careful, it's hot! I used "ove gloves". It took a while and I thought it was a pain, but first bite it was OMG! So crispy and delicious! This is 5 stars all the way!! I will be making these again. Thank you KoalaFace for sharing such an AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by elirt
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I got rave reviews of this. I filled with romaine lettuce and grape tomatoes tossed with blue cheese dressing. I tested out making smaller ones using my small pastry/candy sized baking tin (normally I use it for peanut butter cups) and although they didn't make as pronounced of a cup shape, they worked really well and turned into bite sized BLT bowls! The large ones were difficult to share as well as made for a lot of bacon for one person to eat during a party (only appetizers were set out) and for 15 strips of bacon I only got 5 big cups. I got several little cups from just a few slices so I'll work on perfecting the smaller size next time around. I'm guessing if I wrap around (rather than weave) I could manage smaller cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States