BDukes Lima Beans, Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I put 3 stars because I shoulda read the reviews and put the cabbage in more towards the end because it did turn to mush. I used navy beans instead of cabbage just because I don't like lima beans and my mom always used navy. I didn't have ham hocks but I used spicy sausage. I'll make this again for sure just not put the cabbage in until more towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This turned out much better than expected. I didn't use a ham hock but subbed 6 cups of chicken stock for water. I ended up cooking the beans and sausage in the broth/water for about 2 hours before adding the other ingredients. The cabbage was added in about the last 45 minutes. The sausage I had was a hot product so the soup had some heat but we enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very tasty pot of beans. My limas turned to mush, however. Next time, I won't just set the timer for 90 min. and not check them. I am sure 60 min. would have left some texture. I used bacon instead of ham hock and added mustard greens instead of cabbage, because that's what I had. Will make again. Love a good bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is an awesome meal. I left out the hocks and cooked the beans with a small amt of bacon grease, left out the butter. Cooked the sausage and drained as much grease as possible! Used some home canned tomatoes and oh was it delish!! Thanks BDuke this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Good "down home" country cooking! Hubby loved it. I made it according to the recipe (using ham hocks) but I added 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes. Very filling and would be great for a cold winter day. Next time, however, I'll add the cabbage during the last 1/2 hr. of cooking since the cabbage was mush after cooking almost 2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I gave this 5 STARS(*****)Count them, 5. I am a big fan of soups. This is delicious. Didn't use Ham Hocks, none on hand. Only thing I added was a little onion powder, and some tomato juice. Thanks BDukes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom J Hunting for Recipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: La Rochelle, Poitou-Charentes, France
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Yummy flavor. I omitted the ham hocks, added 2 chicken boullion cubes like another reviewer did, only added about 1 T of butter and added the cabbage during the last half hour of cooking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I left out the cabbage and served over yellow rice - a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I love cabbage and I love beans. I never thought to put them together. Yummy. Changes I made-- omitted the butter and hamhocks, added 2 chicken bouillon cubes instead, and my can of tomatoes was a tad spicy. I did add the sausage as directed but I think it would have been fine without it. So next time I will do it without the sausage. Oh, and instead of soaking the beans over night I followed the directions on the bag and quick soaked them in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is an excellent recipe.Simple,tasty and a really good left-over. Thanx BDukes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Smoked Pork Shank with White Beans

Comforting, rustic pork shank is braised with creamy white beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States