BC Cherry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
You should turn your jam jars upside down after filling and sealing for the first 10 - 15 minutes of cooling to prevent the fruit from staying at the top of the jar. Cut the apple juice and lemon in half for a better set. I used 2 pouches Certo with 4 cups pitted quartered cherries, 6 cups sugar. Hope this helps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
After a lot of pitting cherries, this jam turned out beautifully. I did the recipe as stated and the other reviewers were right saying that it was pretty separated (cherry parts at the top and thin cherry jelly on the bottom of the jars). The taste was unbelievable - sour, sweet, and very cherry! If you haven't canned jam before, this is a great place to start thanks to the detailed instructions. A good way to use up some free cherries from the neighbour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This jam was incredibly easy. I followed the instructions--they were very precise which was a relief for me......I'm not a canning rockstar. This jam was not only beautiful in the jar, it was delicious. One of the best jams I've made yet. It's like summer in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious - I made this during the summer with fresh cherries from the Niagara peninsula and its amazing!!! Everyone loves it! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used the fresh picked cherries we had just brought back from B.C. and this recipe totally didn't work for me. It's more a syrup than a jam and while it tastes great on pancakes, is not what I was hoping for in a jam recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Fantastic basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Being a born and raised Calgarian, cherries from a tree are something that is bought, not grown. What I do have are two bushes of Nanking cherries, those teeny little red berries that are more pit than fruit, but oh so tasty. So I picked my Naking bushes clean... And got me about a whole cup once pitted... I went to the farmers market and made up the difference with some BC cherries and the results were fabulous! I probably didn't even need to go through the process of canning the jam since we're consuming it faster than a Cullen can run ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is an easy & delicious cherry jam recipe. At first, I was turned off by the "sweet" description, but I couldn't seem to find a better recipe online. I finally made this one, and I'm glad I did. I cut the sugar to 2 cups instead of 3 cups. It made the jam tart and perfect. I used 1.5 packages of pectin instead of 2 because I don't like my jam to be really firm like store-bought jellies. I think 1.5 was still too much, and next time I'll just do 1 packet. Because I cut out 1 cup of sugar, I only got 1 pint of jam. I kind of want to make more now. The jam was easy, and I loved the simple ingredients. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
excellent recipe...easy, used low sugar pectin instead and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Tasted wonderful! This was my first time making jam ever so I was really worried that it wouldn't turn out. I added pineapple juice instead of the apple juice because that was all I had, but it had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States