BC Cherry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I love cherry season. I used bing cherries and the jam was so good. I cut the cherries in half, removed the seeds then cut the halves again. I wanted the cherry pieces large enough to see. Oh, by the way, do as I didn't and wear gloves to pit the cherries, I do believe my finges will forever be stained with the cherries, but it's cherries, and well worth the red fingers. I have a large canning funnel which I use when putting the food into jars to help keep the rims of the jars clean, which is very important, as Pepper stated. The jam was excellent; the flavor is very definitely cherry and the color is beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is an easy & delicious cherry jam recipe. At first, I was turned off by the "sweet" description, but I couldn't seem to find a better recipe online. I finally made this one, and I'm glad I did. I cut the sugar to 2 cups instead of 3 cups. It made the jam tart and perfect. I used 1.5 packages of pectin instead of 2 because I don't like my jam to be really firm like store-bought jellies. I think 1.5 was still too much, and next time I'll just do 1 packet. Because I cut out 1 cup of sugar, I only got 1 pint of jam. I kind of want to make more now. The jam was easy, and I loved the simple ingredients. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This jam was incredibly easy. I followed the instructions--they were very precise which was a relief for me......I'm not a canning rockstar. This jam was not only beautiful in the jar, it was delicious. One of the best jams I've made yet. It's like summer in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Delightfully Delicious! Very impressed when compared to the jam recipe that came with the pectin box! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Being a born and raised Calgarian, cherries from a tree are something that is bought, not grown. What I do have are two bushes of Nanking cherries, those teeny little red berries that are more pit than fruit, but oh so tasty. So I picked my Naking bushes clean... And got me about a whole cup once pitted... I went to the farmers market and made up the difference with some BC cherries and the results were fabulous! I probably didn't even need to go through the process of canning the jam since we're consuming it faster than a Cullen can run ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Tasted wonderful! This was my first time making jam ever so I was really worried that it wouldn't turn out. I added pineapple juice instead of the apple juice because that was all I had, but it had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
excellent recipe...easy, used low sugar pectin instead and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used the fresh picked cherries we had just brought back from B.C. and this recipe totally didn't work for me. It's more a syrup than a jam and while it tastes great on pancakes, is not what I was hoping for in a jam recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Fantastic basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakengrace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Absolutely delicious - I made this during the summer with fresh cherries from the Niagara peninsula and its amazing!!! Everyone loves it! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harlgr8dane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States