BB's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I needed a dish to take to a friend who is undergoing treatment for breast cancer. I wanted something very flavorful since I knew that soon the chemo would take her taste for food away. I had sherry, chicken breast, Swiss cheese and stuffing at home so thought I would give it a try. I made a batch for her and her husband and a batch for me and mine, dividing the recipe between two 9x9 pans. It was wonderful! I will consider this a quick and easy recipe that tastes like you spent hours! Make it...you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loma Rica, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
'Can't believe I haven't rated this & it's one of my favorites since 10/03!Not kidding!I made changes eventhough the recipe as is is probably fine,too.I just can't make myself use canned soupANDpackaged dressing.Unfortunately,my changes aren't right here sooo when I get them I'll add soooo this review is more just a review for me that I don't pass it up.Easy&good.Love that! :D 5/12 Finally! :D Combine 1/2c sherry& cr/cel soup.Dredge 6 bnls chix halves in mixture.Place in 1T oil & foil-lined pan.Pour remaining sauce over chix.Bake@350,covered w foil,30min. Remove foil. Drizzle 2T butter&1T olive oil/canola blend over ten slices bread,1/2"cubes.Place around chix.Bake 30more,uncovered.Slide cubes off chix.Remove chix&slice.Stir pan contents. Serve over chicken.Very,very good!Added dried cranberries to cubes&mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Just made this recipe and we all enjoyed it. I used chicken gravy instead of the soup and Merlot wine instead of the sherry, since I had neither on hand. I baked it at 325* uncovered for 45 minutes and it turned out great. Hubby requested that I add this one to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Klimek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Add a couple of cans of green beans, drained about 15 min. before the chicken is done and this recipe would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I copied this recipe and made it for supper last night. it was a hugh hit! We have 5 kids, and there wasn't a morsel left. It was easy and delicious and I will make it again. It's in my active file. thanks and try it, you won't be sorry. liz L.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Great recipe,Barbara. A tasty combination with the celery soup. It is a tad salty for my family, but I couldn't find reduced sodium celery soup. I'll keep looking because this is a definite keeper. Oh Yeah...I believe the cooking time should read one hour at 350 degrees with a cover the first 30 minutes, no cover the last. At least, this is how it worked for me. The chicken was sooooo tender and the sauce was just thick enough to make a good gravy. The stuffing was moist with the edges being crispy. A very pleasant texture all around. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
AWESOME! I wasn't sure about the sherry, but the swiss cheese toned it down to a perfect blend of flavors! My husband and I loved it. I only cooked it for 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered on 350, just like someone had suggested. It was so yummy. Try it! Thanks for the recipe!!! Oh yeah, I served it with mashed potatoes and collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Unfortunately, I baked it uncovered for 60 minutes and it was quite dry, but still delicious. The next time I will bake 30 minutes covered and 30 uncovered, which is what other raters mentioned in their reviews: I didn't read the reviews until after I made and ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I had some leftover Swiss cheese and wanted to use it up, so I was looking for recipes and am sure glad I found this one! This dish has wonderful flavor and is SO easy to make! It really does taste like you spent hours. The only changes I made was I shredded the Swiss instead of slicing it, and I didn't have sherry, so I used milk. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Surprisingly very, very good. I don't usually go for soup-added recipes, but decided to try this. It turned out great. Followed recipe as written as ingredients would allow. I didn't have sliced swiss, so I used shredded; replaced sherry with dry vermouth; had only one 6 oz box of chicken stove-top stuffing; used 1/2 c butter; baked in an 8x10 casserole, covered 30 min and uncovered until breast were done. wah-lah!! Breasts were moist; nice sauce, topping was crunchy!! Even my husband liked it. He's not a picky eater, just doesn't care much for chicken breast, but I try to squeeze it in every now and then. I think I'll try this with boneless pork chops, pork stove-top, and mushroom soup. HMMM? Thanks Barbara...enjoy everyone!! OH! I forgot to mention that I seasoned the chicken breast with Penzy's Northwoods seasoning and placed in ziploc bag in fridge for a couple hours, flipping them over several times. I'm certain the recipe would have been great without it, but I just love that seasoning....would be good on a car bumper!!! It was a free sample with my last Penzey's order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States