BBQ Tuna Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Cool recipe. I used what I had on hand so no green onion, hot sauce or savory- instead chopped yellow onion, garlic, and thyme. An extra egg white helped the cakes stick together perfectly. This recipe is very variable, cheap, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This sounded really weird when I read the recipe, but I was desperate for something to do with canned tuna besides a tuna noodle casserole. I thought it was decent, and I would have given it four stars. I added the extra star because my extremely picky ten-year-old daughter said it was great, and she NEVER says that about anything. The first time I made it I didn't have any barbecue sauce, so I made a mix of catsup, brown sugar, vinegar, spices and seasonings, and it was even good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I was a bit surprised that BBQ sauce and oatmeal would work with tuna... but I have made these a few times now for my family, and they are always a hit. I've found that using a slightly sweet, Kansas City-style BBQ sauce provides better flavor with the tuna than a Texas-style, spicy BBQ sauce--at least in my family's opinion. Don't be tempted to flip them before they are nicely browned on the first side, or else they're more likely to fall apart. Even if they do fall apart, though, they're still tasty, and I like to sprinkle the broken bits over fresh salad greens for a nice, light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Hubby loved these. I divided the mixture into four parts, and the patties stayed together nicely. Don't try to form patties before you put them in the pan, just spoon & pat like the directions say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is an odd recipe. I like the flavor of barbeque sauce and I like the flavor of canned tuna. Together it doesn't work: it's way over the top barbeque sauce flavor, and I even cut it back to two tablespoons. You really can't taste the tuna. I wanted this to be good because it is very easy to make, but it misses the mark. I think canned tuna requires more delicate flavoring. In fact, this recipe would probably be better with no BBQ sauce, but then the name would have to be changed! You know what, just fry 'em up and serve with mayo mixed with a little dill instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Great keeper recipe! I made these exactly as the recipe says and they turned out wonderful, even to my picky family. The only thing I didn't do was add the savory because I forgot to do so. I don't think it altered the taste that much. The BBQ taste was not overwhelming and just added a nice addition to the flavor. You could definitely still taste the tuna. Making the patties small as the recipe calls for helps keep them together well. We used these in wrap sandwiches and they were a healthy, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I really liked this recipe! I made a few changes, and it turned out great! Instead of using plain "canned" tuna, I used a "hickory smoked" variety from a "pouch". Then, I sprinkled a little lemon-pepper seasoning on top of each fritter while they were cooking. I finished it with a creole sauce made from creole mustard, mayonaise, lemon juice, some black pepper, and a little hot sauce. It really gave it a "New Orleans" kind of feel. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
These are tasty little things, the recipe isn't for a crowd wich is ok with me since it is only my husband and I who will eat them, but they are easy, simple, cheap ( a word I love) and very good, I will definitly make this again, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyHubbysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexicali, Baja California, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
8.25.11'Tried this with leftover salmon using 1/3c breadcrumbs, no savory. It was okay. Not a big salmon fan. The barbecue sauce made it taste grilled. Nice, I guess. I'll try it with tuna.1.30.12: Tried w 12oz tuna & 1c oat flour. 'Didn't even make it to the pan. 1 1/4c oats make 1c oat flour, but ... don't try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy P
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was a little leary when I read the title of this recipe, but it was wonderful! My husband even enjoyed it. I made a few minor changes because I didn't have everything on hand. Instead of hot pepper sauce I used a few dashes of hot sauce. I didn't have savory so I used 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and 1/4 tsp of thyme. The fritters turned out delicious! I put them in whole wheat pita pockets stuffed with lettuce and drizzled them with ranch dressing. I got 5 small patties out of the recipe. Next time I will make 4 patties so they will be slightly larger. It was a quick and easy dish to prepare. I will be making these in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States