BBQ Tuna Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I really liked this recipe! I made a few changes, and it turned out great! Instead of using plain "canned" tuna, I used a "hickory smoked" variety from a "pouch". Then, I sprinkled a little lemon-pepper seasoning on top of each fritter while they were cooking. I finished it with a creole sauce made from creole mustard, mayonaise, lemon juice, some black pepper, and a little hot sauce. It really gave it a "New Orleans" kind of feel. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This sounded really weird when I read the recipe, but I was desperate for something to do with canned tuna besides a tuna noodle casserole. I thought it was decent, and I would have given it four stars. I added the extra star because my extremely picky ten-year-old daughter said it was great, and she NEVER says that about anything. The first time I made it I didn't have any barbecue sauce, so I made a mix of catsup, brown sugar, vinegar, spices and seasonings, and it was even good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
these are absolutely great! they are super simple, too. my bf wasn't sure when he saw all the ingredients laid out on the counter, but he couldn't stop eating these when they were done. after his first bite he said, "Wow, these taste like they should look colorful!" well, whatever that means, these were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is an odd recipe. I like the flavor of barbeque sauce and I like the flavor of canned tuna. Together it doesn't work: it's way over the top barbeque sauce flavor, and I even cut it back to two tablespoons. You really can't taste the tuna. I wanted this to be good because it is very easy to make, but it misses the mark. I think canned tuna requires more delicate flavoring. In fact, this recipe would probably be better with no BBQ sauce, but then the name would have to be changed! You know what, just fry 'em up and serve with mayo mixed with a little dill instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was good, but it wouldn't be something I would crave or request. It's a new twist on tuna, and I was able to use what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My daughter helped me make them! The kids liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These were good, my husband and I enjoyed them. (Our 3-year-old spit it out, unfortunately.) The tuna flavor is there but not strong; we did add a couple cloves of garlic and used 2/3 of the savory, which was plenty. :) We scaled the recipe up to 6 people, which was more than enough to feed two hungry adults with plenty left over for snacking; next time I'd scale it up to 4 people. We served it in whole-wheat pitas with ranch dressing, lettuce, and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
When I was a kid we ate a dish of tuna, egg and soda crackers all scrambled together. I'd put ketchup on mine. Alas, my husband just couldn't like it. Well, Tee Hee, it's basically tuna and egg with the oats subst. for crackers. He even eats them leftover straight out of the fridge. I do add the green onion and a little garlic, too. It's tasty with most any sauce. Such a great quick dish to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great consistancy. Easy to make. Very tasty; we will have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Worked great in a pinch. Used Thyme and a little sage instead of the savory and worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Grilled Tuna with Fresh Horseradish

See how to make grilled tuna that just explodes with flavor.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States