BBQ Teriyaki Pork Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is out of this world good! I doubled the marinade for 2 lbs. of pork, but kept the amount of olive oil the same and always use low sodium soy sauce. I added 2 tbsp. each of brown sugar and rice wine vinegar along with 1/4 tsp. of ground ginger. I let this marinate for a full 24 hours. With marinades, the longer the better some times. I kept the basting sauce the same (didn't double) and used 3 Tbsp. of brown sugar. It thickened up nicely. I skewered the pork sepapate from the veggies and pineapple as they cook at different rates. This went great with "Sesame Noodles" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
These are awesome. I have made them twice now. The sauce is very good. Changes that improve the kabob experience: 1. Double the marinade and marinate the vegetables also 2. Make the skewers vegetable-only and meat-only. This helps with safe and even grilling. 3. I think that the marinade is still good if you reduce some of the oil (too greasy) and replace that liquid with rice vinegar. This is a great keeper, though! They smell and look delicious, and they reheat beautifully. I use chunk pineapple in the can (though I am sure fresh would be yummier), tomatoes, red onion, bell pepper, and portabella. Everyone enjoyed on rice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
These kabobs had a great flavor and our guests loved them. However, they do have a little kick. If you don't like spice, I'd cut back on the red pepper in the marinade. Also, the sauce was really salty when I first tasted it. I was expecting it to be sweeter since it is called teriyaki. I added more brown sugar until I got the flavor I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I made this exactly as stated and was pretty good. The marinade was the best part, it had good flavor and was tender, hte chili peppper did give it a small kick. The sauce was a little bland and I had just enough sauce to cover the kabobs with nothing left to baste them with which was ok because it was already seasoned with marinade. Most of the sauce cooked off leaving moist kabobs lightly flavored. I broiled the skewers in the oven and microwaved red potatoes, both were done in just 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellant! I ran out of soy sauce, so I used worchester instead, omitted the salt and increased the brown sugar to 2 tbs. Next time, we will use cherries instead of tomatoes. Also, next time we will cook the onions on a separate skewer and cook longer to make sure they aren't crunchy. All in all, a great grill dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
This is a great recipe. Very tasty and easy to make. I had plenty of basting sauce as I BBQ'd the Kabobs. I will be making these again! I did add alot of pepper for a kick of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
All I can say is "WOW"! The most tender pork we've ever had. My husband said it's one of the best meals he's ever had, and definitely wants to have this again. (I did omit the red pepper flakes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIEPEE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
We felt this was way too salty - and I like salty food. I even used low sodium soy sauce along with the low sodium beef broth. I did, however, marinade it overnight as opposed to three hours and maybe that played part. I was also a little disappointed, probably my fault because I wasn't paying attention to the ingredients beforehand, but I was expecting something more BBQ-like, as in BBQ sauce. "BBQ'D" Pork Teriyaki Kabobs would be a more accurate title.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is good. I added some lime juice to the marinade and doubled the glaze. I only used pork and pineapple on the kabobs, but sauteed some mushrooms seperatley in the glaze. Turned out great - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I thought this was okay. I really liked the marinade, however I didn't care for the beef broth sauce. It really tasted just like thick beef broth. I would leave that out next time and make more marinade to baste with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States