BBQ Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sportyredsaab
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Browned the beef in an iron skillet and then used that as my casserole dish. The only thing I changed was using some mild homemade salsa as my tomato sauce and mixing the brown sugar in with it instead of sprinkling it on top. And I only baked it for 30 minutes at 400 F. I served it over rice. My husband really liked it and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sportyredsaab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plainfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Very easy to make and easy clean up after. I am vegetarian so did not try it. However most people I served it to liked it. One said "very good" as he took another big bite and nodded his head up and down, one said "yeah, pretty good" and finally one said "good flavor but a little dry, could use more sauce". So there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yum, I really liked this recipe :) I didn't have any tomato juice so I used clamato instead and it worked out well :) I also added a packet of onion soup mix just because I love that stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Thought this was just OK. I might cut back a little on the sauerkraut to beef ratio. It was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
wonderful difference from the normal..... used smaller can of sauerkraut and 3/4 c. brown sugar, added pinch of allspice, touch of basil and 2 cloves minced garlic with salt and pepper to taste. Served over baked onion/potato pierogies with some shredded cheese on top...will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was to die for. I just put it all in the crockpot and let it rip. Used stevia instead of brown sugar. Yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought the recipe was great! Super easy, yet tasty. My husband and I both loved it. My children, on the other hand, did not (age 18mos and 3 yrs). I also added a little more tomato sauce but next time would maybe add a can of crushed or stewed tomatoes as well. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Should have gone with my first instinct & totally avoided this recipe. WAY TOO SWEET!!! We love pork & sauerkraut stew, but did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was really easy to make. I thought it was pretty good, but my 3 teenage boys loved it and have asked me to make it again. Served it with homemade smashed potatoes. Filling meal, reminded me of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Not what I thought it would be. Sounded very good, but just wasn't something my husband or I liked. Too much sweetness for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States