BBQ 'Pulled' Tuna Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
The one time I needed BBQ sauce and didn't have any. Couldn't believe we were out so I subbed teriyaki sauce with siracha to taste. I let it sit in the frig for several hours and had it for lunch. My family said it was fantastic. I used albacore tuna in oil that I drained. I used the drained oil to saute the onion and garlic in. I let the onions and garlic sit for 20 minutes with the heat off to infuse the taste into the oil better. I then pressed the the onion/garlic mixture through fine mesh. I mixed the onion/garlic oil with melted butter and liberally applied to the inside of pita pockets. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Maybe it was the brand of tuna I used but it tasted very fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! It taste wonderful! The only tip I would give is to use a nice firm tuna like Albacore or Yellowfin in the can (water or olive oil) instead of a cheaper quality tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this filling and served it in mushroom caps and we were really surprised how much we liked it. Although we agree the tuna is really just a vehicle for really good bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This was perfect! I've been pescatarian (only eat fish) for quite some time now and I certainly missed barbecue pork! Now, not only is this recipe simple and good for those on a budget, but it tastes wonderful. However, I used minced garlic from a jar and onion powder. I also added some mustard powder and chili powder for more kick. Baby Ray's sauce works best since is had sweetness to it. There was no fish taste at all either! Phenomenal recipe - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kornblum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Amazing! Cheaper than pork and almost can't tell it's not except for the texture. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was Great! I was super skeptical at first. I read all of the reviews and plunged ahead. My family loved it! I melted cheese over it to make it fantastic! Definitely will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I'll be honest, the concept of putting BBQ sauce on tuna didn't appeal to me at first. But this recipe is awesome. There's very little fishy taste and you can tweak the recipe to your like very easily. Those who don't eat pork might find this recipe useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delish! Added lots of garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Very good! I also added some mesquite seasoning (just a personal preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

BBQ Pulled Pork Grinder

Slow-roasted pork is shredded, combined with sauce, and topped with slaw.

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States