BBQ Pork for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
After reading the reviews I did the following - I bought 4 lb pork butt - a less expensive cut of meat. I put the meat and broth in the slow cooker for 10 hours, shredded it right away (it shredded very easily) added 1 1/2 bottles of barbecue sauce and refrigerated it overnight. The next day I put it back in the slow cooker for a couple of hours to reheat. It was delicious, easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
This is how I cook my bbq pork. Recommendation for those who have used pork tenderloin, boneless pork chops, etc., - you're using an expensive cut of meat when the cheap cuts work as well. Honestly, the pork will be very tender and the flavor rich. It only takes a small amount of work to remove the bones & fat. The meat itself remains reasonably lean. You will save much money by trying the pork butt, pork roast, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1749 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The way i made this turned out excellent! I used approximately 5.5 lbs of pork ribs with the bone since i coulldn't find boneless. I made my own sauce from a Taste Of Home recipe i have for pork ribs. Plain bottled sauce seemed like it wouldn't taste good. The recipe i used for the sauce is: 1/2 cup cider vinegar 1/2 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup ketchup 1/4 cup chili sauce 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce 2 tbsp chopped onions 1 tbsp lemon juice 1/2 tsp ground mustard 1 clove garlic, minced dash cayenne pepper Combine all sauce ingredients in a saucepan. Simmer, uncovered, for 1 hour or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Here's a really good modification of this recipe. Throw your pork in a slow cooker with no liquid (or maybe a little water if it's a really lean cut) and cook until it's done. Then shred it and pour in a bottle of good vinegary barbeque sauce and most of a can of cola, and leave the top off the slow cooker (should still be at high) for about an hour to thicken the sauce. This takes out the oven step, and the soda in it is surprisingly delicious. Of course it smells so good I can hardly wait that last hour, so I sometimes speed things up in a big skillet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
967 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I used a 16oz can of BEER instead of beef broth....it was awesome. I used Cattlemans Smokehouse BBQ sauce..the best! My husband said it was the best BBQ pulled pork he'd ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
750 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah Falls, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hudson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Really, really good. Again, I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make it and this time I was glad I had. I was very tempted, like others, to just throw the sauced meat back into the crock pot--I mean, why mess up another pan, right? Well I think it made a big, positive difference to the final product. The time in the oven kindof browns the tips and makes it seem more like meat done on the grill. I'd never used Sweet Baby Ray's before and it was good with the pork. It was a little sweet, obviously--I may use Bullseye next time for a more savory change of pace. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
643 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANDREWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Wow this BBQ was a huge hit. Following the advice of my butcher I used Boston Butt instead of boneless ribs. I cooked the meat for 8 hours the night before the party, drained and shredded it and stored it back in the crockpot overnight in the fridge. About 4 hours before the event I added the Sweet Baby Ray's (don't settle for kc masterpiece - yuck) and some of the left over stock drained from the crock the night before. So amazing, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I followed the advice of another review and cooked the pork for 10 hours, pulled it and drained the broth, and then let the pork marinate in the BBQ sauce over night and reheated it the next day. I would suggest the beginning part (cook the pork in the broth for about 10 hours and then pull the pork/drain the broth) but then I would mix the BBQ sauce right in and just warm it up....then eat it. By marinating it over night and reheating it the pork became mush and there was hardly any texture. I am a big texture person, so it was hard to eat that way. I would rather have bigger chunks of pork than mush. Otherwise, this was amazing, especially with the original Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce. I would highly suggest making this and we will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe is impossible to screw up...also, everyone we've tried this (about ten times)on loves it. After experimenting a bit, we've settled on the following: pepper then brown pork (shoulder or butt cut) chop med - large onion, put in bottom of slow cooker with browned meet on top, then pour on 1/2-3/4 bottle of smoke/bbq sauce, cook for 8-10 hours, remove bone(s) and large pieces of fat, shred meat, put back in the cooker, mix with the leftover bbq sauce then switch to high for 1/2-1 hr. serve on rolls with beer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I used this recipe and the ideas of Jan's (submitted Feb.2001). It was absolutely delicious! Used a boneless shoulder cut of pork since it tends to be leaner. Peppered and seasoned pork using Lawry's seasoning, browned the meat. Chopped med onion added to bottom of slow cooker. Added one can of beef broth and 1/2cup of your favorite BBQ Sauce (a good sauce also makes the difference in taste, we prefer a sweet/spicy sauce)-cooked in slow cooker on low for 3-4 hours, until meat was tender and ready to fall apart. Drained broth, shredded the meat, mix rest of BBQ sauce, cooked to desired temp. approx 1/2-1 hour in cooker. This is definately a repeat recipe in our home for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ

This pulled pork is so easy to make in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States