BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was an easy recipe. My husband called it "camp" food! He's not fond of BBQ sauce but I am and this combination suited us both. I used a sweeter yet spicy BBQ sauce which was a really nice compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nipissing, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was really good. Like other reviewers, I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, season salt, salt and pepper. I also added a pinch of brown sugar to it. My son is allergic to the topping, so I substituted low-fat cresant rolls instead. I just rolled them out flat and placed them on top. I still had to cook it about the same time frame. My 10 year old son has declared this his new favorite recipe. Everyone in my house scraped the bowl clean! Just a reminder though to let it rest when it comes out of the oven for about 10 minutes and it thickens up nicely. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
We just loved this and the leftovers make great cold-day lunches. I did make a few changes following other's suggestions. Added garlic salt, seasoned salt and a tablespoon of honey to the meat. Topped the meat with about a cup of cheddar cheese and then used corn bread topping following the recipe on the package. It flowed evenly over the top and came out golden browen. Then topped with some shredded cheese. This will definately be one of our favorite winter weeknight dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Recipe was good...not outstanding and not terrible...may make again, may not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Delicous! i used the Jack Daniels Original #7 BBQ sauce that has a fantastic flavor. I put this in a long casserole dish but should have used a deeper one that way the crust would have covered it. As it was, it did not! This will be a recipe that I make from time to time. With that in mind when I browned the ground beef I did an extra portion toward the next time so the prep time will be quicker. Next time I htink I will add a bit of kick with some spicier ingredients as people have mentioned in their reviews. But as this recipe stands it is very tastey and very good! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEVatter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was good but I did add chopped jalapenos and garlic for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe, but made a few changes. Used ground turkey instead of beef, used half the bbq sauce, doubled the Worcestershire, 1Tbsp splenda brown suger,added extra minced garlic and garlic salt (I love garlic!), a little cayenne pepper to spice things up and topped with a little cheese before putting the biscuit topping. I added 1Tbsp honey to the mix and doubled the topping to make sure it covered the entire 9x13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Really good! I rated it a 4 because I think you may want to tweak it to your own taste! I think a cornbread crust would be really great! And I had the opposite problem from most that I had too much crust! I added more to cover the top, and I didn't expect it to "puff" up so much! I think some corn or beans would be great in it. I used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ Hot and spicy and it gave it a great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was great! One of the frequent ways that I plan on preparing my baked beans from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Martin Meirs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Check, Virginia, USA
Living In: New Kent, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The first thing my husband said (when he came up for air) was, "Is there more?" This was so easy to prepare and so tasty. I didn't change or add anything to the recipe. I used honey barbecue sauce which gave it just a little sweetness. I will be making this again. Someone had suggested making a cornbread topping and I'm going to try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States