BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Very tasty. I chopped up a whole medium sweet onion. I placed this in a 13 x 9 and found that there wasn't quite enough biscuit mixture to cover the entire pan. This was very good and I can see where you could add spices and such to this to suit your own tastes. This is a typical hobo type dinner; suitable for family, not for company. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
After reading other reviews, I added a liberal amount of garlic salt and seasoning salt to the hamburger mixture. After pouring into a baking dish I grate about a cup of Cheddar cheese on top before adding the baking mix topping. I doubled the amount of baking mix topping, which worked out well. I only put 3/4 cup of the bbq sauce and next time will eliminate it altogether as it doesn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My friends and I cooked this for a group of teenagers and it got mixed reviews. I thought it had good flavor and liked it, but others weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I really liked this, as did the rest of my family! This dish has a lot of meat in it, I can't imagine it as a side dish, it fits much better as a main dish. After reading the reviews, this is what I changed: I added a good amount of garlic salt and seasoned salt to the ground beef and then some brown sugar (2 T?) to the mixture before putting it in the dish. I topped the mixture with shredded cheese before topping with the biscuit mix (only the amount which was called for in the recipe, it was about 3/4 inch thick when done- perfect for me! I did add 1 T honey). When done baking, I topped with the extra bbq sauce and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharissaH
Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
As unusual as mixing these ingredients sound, I've found that everyone that has tried it has wanted the recipe. It's easy enough for anyone to make, I definately recommend doubling the topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Yummy and simple. This was a bit hit with the whole group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I really like the recipe simple and pretty easy to make. I'm going to try it again with honey baked beans and a honey bbq sauce to see if that makes a difference in the taste. It was a little much on the bbq sauce but I really felt like something was missing and I'm not really sure what I'm hoping the pairing of the beans and sauce will make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seneca, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wll not be bothering with this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
What a nice, simple and quick supper! I had only one can of baked beans, so I added a can of vegetarian chili with beans - tasted very good. Next time, I'll try it with a cornbread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Very yummy and really easy to make too! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States