BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This only gets four stars because I knew it wouldn't be five without some changes. I always pre-cook ground beef and turkey with seasonings, so I didn't start this from that step. I just added dehydrated onion instead, and also to save time. I made the beans how I would typically make baked beans: BBQ sauce, onion, molasses, brown sugar, smoke sauce, worcestershire sauce - I just mixed it all in a 9 X 13 pan. Then when making the baking mix (separate bowl), I added about 1 Tablespoon of honey. I put shredded sharp Cheddar cheese on top of the mix about 5 minutes before it was nice and golden. I put pre-cooked pieces of sliced maple bacon on the top of the cheese. YUM! My husband's favorite food is baked beans, so he LOVED this!!! I was leary about ground meat in with the beans, but it was a wonderful combination. It'd also be good with pre-cooked chicken (canned or frozen). I actually liked the amount of mix there was for the topping. In a 9 X 13 pan, it made just a light, thin crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
As unusual as mixing these ingredients sound, I've found that everyone that has tried it has wanted the recipe. It's easy enough for anyone to make, I definately recommend doubling the topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was surprisingly good. I had my doubts, but I needed to use my ground beef. Both my husband and I liked how this tasted. It gets points because it was so EASY. It went together in 15 minutes and the time in the oven allowed me to get my sides together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was very good and very easy! I didn't add the additional BBQ sauce on top and used more cheese than it called for. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
What a nice, simple and quick supper! I had only one can of baked beans, so I added a can of vegetarian chili with beans - tasted very good. Next time, I'll try it with a cornbread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
After reading other reviews, I added a liberal amount of garlic salt and seasoning salt to the hamburger mixture. After pouring into a baking dish I grate about a cup of Cheddar cheese on top before adding the baking mix topping. I doubled the amount of baking mix topping, which worked out well. I only put 3/4 cup of the bbq sauce and next time will eliminate it altogether as it doesn't need it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and found it tasted like baked bean cake. The baked topping w/ meat & bean filling did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This is pretty good for a quick easy meal, with things you would probably have on hand. Don't make any special trips to get the ingredients. It is a little bland. It needs something, I'm just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Pretty good, but felt like something you'd make if this was all you had in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I liked the hamburger and bbq bean mix, but I didn't care to much for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States