BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was absoultely yummy! Great for family BBQ's or pot lucks! The only thing I would change is adding 2(28 oz) cans of baked beans instead of the 15 oz. cans. And I also added 1 med sized green pepper when I added the onion. Just be sure to use the baked beans with the "juice" not the creamy brown kind. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilsMommy09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
everyone loved it. very filling .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Yum! (Even my picky husband ate it AND got second helpings!) I'm always looking for ways to make things easier... therefore, I used a ready-made refrigerated pie dough and "rolled it out" (spread it) on top of the meat/bean/etc mixture. I baked the entire thing at a 400 degrees for about 20-30 minutes. (During the last 10-15 mins of baking, I covered the edges of the pie crust with strips of foil to keep them from burning.) It was delicious and flaky and a perfect blend of flavors!!! Also, I used ground turkey (with lots of seasoning) and added a can of kidney beans to the mixture. Great flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Yummy --I cut in half except not the topping and it was great! will try with cornbread next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
great with cornbread mix instead of biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was very good. I added garlic powder and a chopped onion to the ground beef, and added some cheese below topping as well. Like other reviewers, I doubled topping for 9x13 pan. Next time I will try this with cornbread topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was alright as written, which is the way I made it. Something just didn't click, though. Here are my suggestions. Instead of baking mix, use cornbread. I think it would complement the good stuff underneath better. With that, you can decide if you wanted to add cheese on top, but I wouldn't do sauce. The cornbread will be great without it. I think I would actually rather mix some cheese into the bean and meat mixture. Just my own thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifeyJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannon Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Adding a little garlic salt, seasoned salt, and brown sugar made this a scrumptious and easy dinner dish for when my mom had to work late! It needs a little more biscuit batter to cover shallower casserole dishes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was really good after I made a few changes. I used 1/3 cup of onions instead of 1/4. Also this recipe was missing something so I added 1/3 cup diced green bell pepper and it added the perfect flavor and color! Also, I used a box of Jiffy cornbread mix and prepared according to the Jiffy box and then poured over. Also, I used KC Masterpiece Original BBQ sauce and it came out perfect! One more tip, if you use a 9x13 casserole, make sure to add a little extra milk or water to the jiffy cornbread mix so it will be thinner and cover the entire casserole. If not, you will have to use two boxes and that will be too much cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Family friendly and hearty. I had already browned ground beef, so I added about 1/2 cup of french-fried onions. I also topped the filling with prepared cornbread mix. My family enjoyed it. Next time I might try half ground beef and half pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States