BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this dish. I changed the beef to ground turkey, used a whole onion and used Jiffy cornbread as the topping instead of biscuit baking mix. I also seasoned the turkey with Adobe seasoing, instead of garlic salt like previous reviews suggested. I have made this dish twice so far. My suggestion would be like others to add 1 to 2 MORE cans of baked beans than what the recipe originally calls for and to use one box of cornbread mix if you are going to try that route. I tried two, but it made the topping really thick. The second time, I only used one box, but added 1 cup of milk (instead of 1/2 cup) and the balance was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My friends and I cooked this for a group of teenagers and it got mixed reviews. I thought it had good flavor and liked it, but others weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was really good and had lots of flavor! I made it just as written except that I omitted the 1/4 cup cheddar cheese and the 1 tbs BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wll not be bothering with this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I read the reviews and made the following changes - added some garlic powder and seasoned salt to the meat/bean mixture, only used 1/2 cup of barbecue sauce, doubled the crust, and skipped the extra sauce and cheese on top. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I thought this recipe was lacking something, like more veggies. Next time I think I'll put in a layer of broccoli or peas and carrots. It would be more shepherd's pie like which is fine with me. My husband really likes it, of course he's not as veggie crazy as myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
It was good. Something for a cold day. I used a light sauce which made it super sweet (don't recommend it). Easy simple and best of all I had all the ingredients in my house, didn't have to go do a special shopping trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is so tasty, very easy to make, and cheap! I've always liked baked beans and cheddar cheese together, so this was instantly appealing to me. I did make some changes...I used 1 lb of lean ground beef, 2 (22 oz) cans of Bush Bourbon and Brown Sugar Grillin Beans, added a pinch of cayenne pepper, and used Sweet Baby Ray brown sugar bbq sauce. I only had 1/2 cup of bbq sauce, but it still tasted great. I really liked the ratio of beef to beans that I used...1 1/2 lbs of meat and smaller cans of beans just didn't seem too balanced. And I liked the crust, but I think I'll definitely try the cornbread crust next time. Thanks for the keeper! This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I loved this! Of course, I love anything with BBQ sauce. I did make some pretty significant changes, one of them being I made this in the slow cooker vs. the oven. Super easy, I dumped the meat mixture (with more spices than called for in the recipe) into the slow cooker, and topped it with canned biscuits since I didn't have any biscuit mix. Next time I'm going to top the biscuits with honey, as another reviewer suggested. Sounds great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is excellent! I only used 1 can of beans. I also used sweet Italian sausages instead of ground beef. I was thinking it might be too weird, but it turned out fantastic! Definitely easy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States