BBQ Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good! I put it in a 9x13, and the crust did cover it. However, the crust was thin enough that it was done in 30 minutes, so cooking time will depend on the size of your dish. I would like to try it with green pepper and maybe corn inside. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Made this using 1 lb. hamburger, 28 oz. beans, 1 cup BBQ sauce, cheese on top of meat mixture, and 1 box corn bread mix (mixed with 1 cup milk). Next time I will add an additional 1/2 cup BBQ sauce to the meat mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The barbecue is subtle - even with using spicy barbecue. 'Not that subtle is a bad thing, but I thought it'd be ... well, barbecuey! It's pretty good, but not so barbecuey. I halved the recipe with ground turkey so added the full t of worcestershire, extra onion & barbecue. I made the full amount of topping & it pressed the limit for a pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is a great starting point but we agree that it needs a little something. We thing if you simmered the beans and bbq sauce it would enhance the flavor of the beans more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Very easy and economical. Because I have a 14 year old boy in the house, this recipe only fed 4, but I'm sure I will make it again. I didn't put extra barbecue sauce on top, just cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I did not add any baked beans hence I made some navy beans on the side....added a frozen bag of mixed veggies to the beef (carrots, peas, corn, green beans) and a cup of bbq sauce per recipe and was great!! u just have to tweak this recipe a tad to your liking but def. will make this again, will try the cornbread topping next time as well.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcook
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
different and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Oh this was definitely a home run in my house. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I had some trouble with this one. First off for me it was a major bean over load, the next time I make this I will have to alter the amounts somehow. The breading on the top did not bake all the way through the middle and was quite runny, I had to leave it in an extra 12 minutes. It was certainly not the most attractive looking dish I have ever made, but despite my difficult time prepping it tasted amazing! After making this a second time, it is definitely one of my favorites! Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I love this dish. I changed the beef to ground turkey, used a whole onion and used Jiffy cornbread as the topping instead of biscuit baking mix. I also seasoned the turkey with Adobe seasoing, instead of garlic salt like previous reviews suggested. I have made this dish twice so far. My suggestion would be like others to add 1 to 2 MORE cans of baked beans than what the recipe originally calls for and to use one box of cornbread mix if you are going to try that route. I tried two, but it made the topping really thick. The second time, I only used one box, but added 1 cup of milk (instead of 1/2 cup) and the balance was MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States