BBQ Oatmeal Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was very good. I didn't have any sausage, and cut back on the recipe for 2 of us. I used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef, one onion, one cup of shredded carrots, a whole envelope of the onion soup mix, no brown sugar as others suggested, 2 eggs, about 3/4 cups of barbeque sauce and 1/2 cup of gluten free oats. A painted a little of the barbeque sauce on the top, but no bacon. It turned out very well, just sweet enough; very moist; and the carrots added a tiny bit of crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Hubs and I loved this, tho' I did make a few changes that made this more appealing for us - I skipped the carrots as well as the sugar - can't even imagine how sweet that would have been and I knew that wouldn't work for us, tho' we're not fans of sweet/savory to begin with. To fill in for the carrots I tossed in some chopped celery and green pepper. As for the sausage, I didn't have any breakfast sausage but I did have ground pork - that and a good shot of freshly ground pepper worked fine. I made a half recipe, one loaf, for the two of us and used the entire package of the onion soup mix. The best part of this meatloaf in my view was the barbeque sauce and the flavor it imparted - awesome good! Then again, the bacon on top was pretty darn good too. One final word for this - repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
What a great meatloaf! My husband and I both enjoyed this. It is quite the change from the traditional meatloaf, which we also like. I had no problem with the recipe. I substituted whole oats for rolled oats because that is what I had, and I used frozen carrots that I chopped up fine because I didn't have any fresh ones. It turned out perfect anyhow! We fed the inlaws and a friend with it as well, and had nothing but compliments. Thanks for sharing, Jeffery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was _okay_. It was super crumbly (maybe I put too much or not enough oatmeal?). It also did not have a knock-out flavor- though the flavor was not bad. Maybe I would use a hot Italian sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Tasted very good. Thought recipe may have had more BBQ sauce than I would like. May cut back next time. Overall, a great tasting and moist meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this for a few of my friends and every single person said it was the best meatloaf they have ever had! The only thing that I did was use 2 large onions and not three onions. And I removed the bacon and glazed the meatloaf with BBQ. Huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I did not care for the flavor of this oatmeal and it never did reach the right consistency, despite using a full 2 cups oatmeal. It was much too sweet and fell apart. I always rate recipes based on the ingredients and methods given, not on how I alter it. So based on the contents of this recipe, I have to give it 2 stars. I would not make it again and I don't understand what all the hubub is over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Best meatloaf ever! I left out carrots and added 1 can of rotel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
DELICIOUS! My mom hates anything with a BBQ flavor and even she had seconds. I lightened it up quite a bit using 96/4 ground beef, turkey sausage, egg substitute, and turkey bacon. The only thing that was missing were the extra calories! I chopped the carrots very fine since my family *thinks* they don't like carrots (yessir, I'm a sneaky cook!) and I used 2 c. of finely ground rolled oats. I think I'll have to add about a cup or so more to the extra amount I froze since the 1st loaf did fall apart; I'm thinking is due to the egg substitute. A must-try for all you meatloaf fans who are looking for a twist to the "usual".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Thanks Jeff! I used a pound of 96% lean beef and a pound of 99% lean ground turkey. I Omited the sausage and spiced it up with sage to make up some of the flavor loss. To add back fat in a good way I used 5 tbsp of olive oil. Left off the bacon and used 2cups oatmeal. It was awsome! Thanks again Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States