BBQ NY Strip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My husband is very picky about his steaks...we both LOVED THIS MARINADE just as it is instructed to make! I was confused by the ingredient "steak seasoning" I used a dry steak seasoning similar to Montreal steak seasoning. I think whatever you use, dry or wet it will work just fine. I have now made this marinade about 5 times on different types of steaks, it is ALWAYS VERY GOOD. We like the fact that it enhances the steaks without overpowering the natural yummy flavor. This is an awesome exact as is recipe! DO TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Excellent! I made this tonight for my husband and it came out so juicy. I seared the NY strip 3 minutes on each side and then lowered the temp. to low and cooked it for another 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is a good Grilled NY Strip, not BBQ. BBQ and grilling are two separate and quite distinct forms of cooking: you grill over direct heat, and BBQ low and slow, using indirect heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I generally don't like marinades (especially the teriyaki variety) but I try them occasionally when my wife makes me. This marinade is one of the few I thought was pretty good. It enhanced the meat flavor rather than overwhelming or masking it. The measurements of each of the ingredients were spot on, creating a nicely balanced marinade. I can't believe I'm saying this, because I'm a real purist when it comes to my steaks, but I'd actually make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
My wife and I tried this a couple of nights ago. The smell and taste is FANTASTIC. Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great steak marinade! I used McCormick's Grill Mates instead of steak seasoning and it came out very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is absolutley fanastic, the best steaks I ever made at home, even better than the local steak houses! I used light olive oil and Head Country Seasoning for the steak seasoning called for. If you don't have Head Country seasoning, get some, you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
We loved these steaks. The perfect combination of flavors for us. Marinated for 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I have done this recipe approx. 100 times and it is absolutely the best marinade hands down, especially on pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
When I lived in Florida, I would buy a slab of NY Strip at the local Penn-Dutch store and have Mike the butcher, slice it into 2" thick steaks. I just rubbed them with Montreal Steak Seasoning and let them sit for about an hour, that is until they reached room temperature. On they go to the charcoal fired BBQ at HIGH heat. On for three minutes, and rotate 90 degrees, for another three minutes (rotating is done to get the perfect criss-cross grill marking,) then flip for four minutes, rotate 90 degrees again and finish cooking a final four minutes. The total elapsed time on the grill is fourteen minutes! Once you have done it this way, ordering steak in a restaurant or even a steak house will be a disappointment. Serve with baked potato, asparagus red wine and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rcaf36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States