BBQ Miso Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious! I have used different types of miso and different brands of beer but it's always a hit. Also works well for marinating vegetables (in a separate bowl or bag) and then I use the vegetable marinade for basting. The only change I make is to cut up the chicken and cook it on skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I loved this. I served on top of egg noodles. I added fresh ground ginger, garlic, olive oil, (it helps blacken most meats) and whatever cayenne. Grilled indoors on a Jenn Air. Reserved some of the marinade and cooked it down to thick sauce and poured it over the plate....Guests were blown away. I am going to do the same tonight but am going to use shrimp on skewers served over a think pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Don't marinate the chicken longer than 4 or 5 hours!! Although the taste was great, I did over marinate, and it was WAY too salty. Follow the instructions.... It's a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I added small amount of Thai red curry sauce and some saki and put this recipe into overdrive. This will definitely be added to line up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Used less sugar and more cayenne, also some Japanese ichimi to match the miso. I threw some shiitake mushrooms and green onions into the marinade as well. AWESOME, and you can drink the rest of the beer you don't use... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Was OK, no revelation here. I prepared the marinade with white miso and the flavor didn't really come through. I suspect that had I made it with a different type of miso it would have been better. Overall the chicken was fine, but after chilling for 11 hours in a sea of yummy marinade the flavor didn't quiet permiate well, and the sugar burned during cooking. While I liked the taste of marinade alone and I think it would work well as a dipping sauce (at least with white miso), I will not be using this recipe again for marinading chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This recipe definitely delivered! It was a very welcome change in my home since some members of my family cannot have acidic foods. So that means no barbeque sauces with tomatoes or vinegar. I even substituted tahini mixed with some anchovy paste when I ran out of miso. The marinating process definitely helps to tenderize the meat. I've used this recipe with pork, lamb and beef and it was a hit everytime. A recipe to keep close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have beer on hand so I used dry white. Will try beer next time. For those not familiar with miso, give it a try. Miso is soybeans fermented with rice and/or barley. Most common miso is white or red. White miso is more mild and sweet. I use it mostly for salad dressings. Red miso is quite bold in taste and is excellent in marinades, as in this recipe, or soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Fast, easy and delicious! I baked it at 350 for 45 min and kept basting throughout. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYANNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States