BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good and very easy! I used all turkey and omitted all of the vodka from the recipe. I also used all fresh tomatoes from my garden (instead of the canned) and cooked them together with all of the other sauce ingredients. Also, baked the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes (while making the sauce)... I put them in a crock pot and poured only half of the sauce over the meatballs. I froze the other half of the sauce to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Sweet and spicy and tasty. Left the recipe and ingred. for my husband and son to make while I was away and they loved 'em. I was made to taste the leftovers when I got home and I loved 'em too. Manly and good over rice or noodles. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I've made these meatballs many times for parties and always get rave reviews. I make them every year for our New Years Eve party and there is never a single meatball left. The only thing that I change is that I use ground pork instead of ground beef because I don't eat beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have used this recipe at least 10 times now! WONDERFUL meatballs! I actually use frozen meatballs, but I prepare the sauce as written (except I have usually left out the vodka) and then throw everything in a crock pot. It is sooooo good! I use Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce - our personal fave - amazing! I've also had good luck with KC's. YUM! I can only imagine how much better this is with the homemade meatballs! Someday I will try! I've also thrown Little Smokies/Mini Hot Dogs in the sauce. Sometimes I will just let the sauce cook first in the crock pot, and add the meatballs after awhile. They usually heat up pretty well, and this keeps 'em from getting soggy. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made these meatballs for a potluck at work and have been hailed the meatball queen. I did make a couple small alterations due to ingredients I had on hand. I used ground pork instead of turkey, a 28-oz bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's and omitted the vodka and crushed tomatoes. I made the meatballs and sauce the night before then cooked them in the crock pot on low for about 2.5 hours at work the next morning. They turned out fabulous! I'm sure the original recipe would be just as good. All my coworkers have said that I must bring these meatballs to all future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was a very tasty dish, although I prefer to substitute a cup and a half of uncooked rice for the bread crumbs. It's excellent served with baked beans and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I made this for my party and there was not a meatball left in the house! I only used one can of crushed tomatoes (two wouldnt fit in the pot) I made sauce first then added large 6lb bag of frozen meatballs from Costco and cooked on high for 4-5 hours then turned down to warm for the rest of the night.This will be my "dish" when invited to parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
We all LOVED this recipe...we did scale it down for 6 people, and served it with rice...yum. We also nixed the vodka. This recipe has been requested to be a regular in our house! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these for a family reunion. I boiled the meatballs instead of frying them. It makes them less greasy, is easier to do and they hold their shape better. I put them in a crock pot, put the sauce over and cooked on low for 3 hours. Very yummy and I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the best BBQ meatballs ever ! I made this for a Pampered Chef party and every participant of the party wanted the recipe so with their order went a copy of this recipe :) This is definitely a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States