BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these for a family reunion. I boiled the meatballs instead of frying them. It makes them less greasy, is easier to do and they hold their shape better. I put them in a crock pot, put the sauce over and cooked on low for 3 hours. Very yummy and I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Oh yum Liane! We really loved these. I scaled the recipe down to six and used ground turkey. Altho the meatballs would make a really nice appy, which I will certainly do in the future, I made them for dinner and served them over mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe, however, next time I won't waste my vodka as I didn't think it added anything to the dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I made this for my party and there was not a meatball left in the house! I only used one can of crushed tomatoes (two wouldnt fit in the pot) I made sauce first then added large 6lb bag of frozen meatballs from Costco and cooked on high for 4-5 hours then turned down to warm for the rest of the night.This will be my "dish" when invited to parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was a very tasty dish, although I prefer to substitute a cup and a half of uncooked rice for the bread crumbs. It's excellent served with baked beans and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Really good and very easy! I used all turkey and omitted all of the vodka from the recipe. I also used all fresh tomatoes from my garden (instead of the canned) and cooked them together with all of the other sauce ingredients. Also, baked the meatballs in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes (while making the sauce)... I put them in a crock pot and poured only half of the sauce over the meatballs. I froze the other half of the sauce to use later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I have used this recipe at least 10 times now! WONDERFUL meatballs! I actually use frozen meatballs, but I prepare the sauce as written (except I have usually left out the vodka) and then throw everything in a crock pot. It is sooooo good! I use Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce - our personal fave - amazing! I've also had good luck with KC's. YUM! I can only imagine how much better this is with the homemade meatballs! Someday I will try! I've also thrown Little Smokies/Mini Hot Dogs in the sauce. Sometimes I will just let the sauce cook first in the crock pot, and add the meatballs after awhile. They usually heat up pretty well, and this keeps 'em from getting soggy. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made these meatballs for a potluck at work and have been hailed the meatball queen. I did make a couple small alterations due to ingredients I had on hand. I used ground pork instead of turkey, a 28-oz bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's and omitted the vodka and crushed tomatoes. I made the meatballs and sauce the night before then cooked them in the crock pot on low for about 2.5 hours at work the next morning. They turned out fabulous! I'm sure the original recipe would be just as good. All my coworkers have said that I must bring these meatballs to all future potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
At first I didn't think this recipe was that good. Though I think part of my impression was because of the bad choice in trying to pair it with cooked linguine. I intentionally made the full yield in order to have left overs. I didn't have an issue with them not cooking through enough. As the sauce was simmering, I used a large skillet and browned the meatballs in small batches before adding them to the pot with the sauce. They cooked through while the sauce simmered for about an hour. Reheating them and serving them alone I realize that they are quite tasty. I agree with one of the other reviewers that these would make great meatball subs. Though I didn't initially like them, my family did. And I've since served some of the left over meatballs and gotten many compliments. These do take a while to make, but they are worth it. Something that might help cut down on prep time is to have a few volunteers with you to form the meatballs. This might go without saying, though I've learned the hard way that you need to be careful when you are simmering the sauce so that it doesn't become burnt on the bottom of the pot. A splatter screen is a good idea too. Thanks Liane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the best BBQ meatballs ever ! I made this for a Pampered Chef party and every participant of the party wanted the recipe so with their order went a copy of this recipe :) This is definitely a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
We all LOVED this recipe...we did scale it down for 6 people, and served it with rice...yum. We also nixed the vodka. This recipe has been requested to be a regular in our house! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States