BBQ Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was a very tasty dish, although I prefer to substitute a cup and a half of uncooked rice for the bread crumbs. It's excellent served with baked beans and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Sweet and spicy and tasty. Left the recipe and ingred. for my husband and son to make while I was away and they loved 'em. I was made to taste the leftovers when I got home and I loved 'em too. Manly and good over rice or noodles. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I made this for my party and there was not a meatball left in the house! I only used one can of crushed tomatoes (two wouldnt fit in the pot) I made sauce first then added large 6lb bag of frozen meatballs from Costco and cooked on high for 4-5 hours then turned down to warm for the rest of the night.This will be my "dish" when invited to parties
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was exellent! I left out the pineapple (I'm allergic) but they were still wonderful. I'm used to a sweet BBQ sauce, but this tangy BBQ sauce was wonderful. The turkey with the beef made a less fattening and still delicious meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Oh yum Liane! We really loved these. I scaled the recipe down to six and used ground turkey. Altho the meatballs would make a really nice appy, which I will certainly do in the future, I made them for dinner and served them over mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe, however, next time I won't waste my vodka as I didn't think it added anything to the dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
We all LOVED this recipe...we did scale it down for 6 people, and served it with rice...yum. We also nixed the vodka. This recipe has been requested to be a regular in our house! thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I made these for a family reunion. I boiled the meatballs instead of frying them. It makes them less greasy, is easier to do and they hold their shape better. I put them in a crock pot, put the sauce over and cooked on low for 3 hours. Very yummy and I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is the best BBQ meatballs ever ! I made this for a Pampered Chef party and every participant of the party wanted the recipe so with their order went a copy of this recipe :) This is definitely a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was a great recipe. I altered it a little and used bround turkey and sausage finely cut. I also left out the vodka. My family loved this and I will be making it agan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
At first I didn't think this recipe was that good. Though I think part of my impression was because of the bad choice in trying to pair it with cooked linguine. I intentionally made the full yield in order to have left overs. I didn't have an issue with them not cooking through enough. As the sauce was simmering, I used a large skillet and browned the meatballs in small batches before adding them to the pot with the sauce. They cooked through while the sauce simmered for about an hour. Reheating them and serving them alone I realize that they are quite tasty. I agree with one of the other reviewers that these would make great meatball subs. Though I didn't initially like them, my family did. And I've since served some of the left over meatballs and gotten many compliments. These do take a while to make, but they are worth it. Something that might help cut down on prep time is to have a few volunteers with you to form the meatballs. This might go without saying, though I've learned the hard way that you need to be careful when you are simmering the sauce so that it doesn't become burnt on the bottom of the pot. A splatter screen is a good idea too. Thanks Liane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Friendly Meatballs

Make these oven-baked meatballs with turkey or ground beef.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States