BBQ Hotdogs on Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Instead of a pound of kielbasa, I used a 13-oz pkg of Hillshire Farm® Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage (lowering fat and calories), and I must admit I made other changes, as well. After reading the reviews, it was apparent that the amount of molasses was going to overwhelm everything, so I added only 2 Tbsp. I used an 8-oz can of Spanish tomato sauce which has quite a kick to it and provided the perfect balance to the sweet molasses. Also sautéed some sliced onions and bell pepper with the sausage, making it more of a main dish, added the optional BBQ sauce, and served over chicken herb rice. I think this is just one of those recipes where you have to adjust the ingredients to your own personal taste. As written, I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it nearly as much as I did tweaking. Not sure why this is titled BBQ Hotdogs since it calls for kielbasa, definitely a misnomer. Nothing fancy-schmancy here, but with the modifications I made, it was quite a satisfying comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was not good as is. The ratio from meat to sauce was extremely way off. I followed to a T and there was 4 to 5 times the amount of sauce to 1 pound of meat before I had to salvage what I made. I don't know if it was to sauce up the rice that much because the rice and sausage would be swimming. But I had tons of sauce left over that get got wasted. The molasses was way to strong and way to sweet for this. I had to try and salvage this, so that my kids would eat the BBQ w/ sausage, I added the optional BBQ sauce and it even over powered it. I totally had to add the 6 ounces of remaining tomato sauce(because we can't get 10oz sized cans where I live) so it was entire 16 ounces of tomato sauce and ended up using a full 1/2 cup of BBQ because 1/4 cup just didn't cut out the sweetness of the molasses either. Sorry...won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This really turned out tasty. I would use more rice next time as we had a lot of sauce, but then I used a 16oz tomato sauce, not 10oz. I think the hickory & brown sugar bbq sauce we used added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was given mixed reviews at our dinner table. I enjoyed the flavors and so did one of our kids, but 3 didn't, so will probably change it up a bit next time. I did an an onion and used honey bbq sauce. The sauce wasn't thick enough for me, so I mixed a little cornstarch and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
great quick dinner....didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Quick, easy and my husband loved it. I cut back on the molasses per previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magra2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
There's nothing mind-blowing about this recipe, but it's quick, easy, and great for when you're running low on groceries. I omitted the molasses, and added a little brown sugar. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Considering the limited ingredients, I was not expecting gourmet fare. As per other reviews, I added a TBSP. of brown sugar, and then after tasting it I still felt that it needed SOMETHING. So, I added some diced green pepper and a bit of crushed pineapple. Unfortunately, it still turned out like something that I won't ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
WONDERFUL! I LOVE kielbasa! And this was just great! I was a litle nervous about so much molasses, but just keep cooking it and makes the meat taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
My family loved this! It was so fast and easy to make, it is good, home cooking for a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States