BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
These meatballs were great and everyone in the house loved them -- especially the 12yo, who said they were awesome. For the sauce, I did cut the brown sugar in the glaze in half as recommended by others, and it could have been reduced even more. With half the recommended amount of brown sugar, the sauce is still very sweet, maybe too sweet. I'd recommend starting with about a quarter of the recipe amount of brown sugar and working your way up from that. (Another idea is to make the meatballs without the glaze and use your favorite BBQ sauce instead.) As for quantity of sauce, you really don't need to smother the meatballs, so I don't think doubling the sauce is really necessary. For the meatballs themselves, I substituted 2% milk for the evaporated milk to lower fat grams, and it was fine. I used regular Old-Fashioned Oats rather than quick cooking, and the oats cooked up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
We really enjoyed these meat balls ...added a little garlic to bring them to the dinner table ........really, really great !!One suggestion for anybody that has never made meat balls before..every third meat ball you make wet you hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynndog (,)(,)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I actually cooked these in the slow cooker on low for about 6 hours. I added an entire bottle of bbq sauce also. They were very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Absolutely delicious. Smelled amazing while they were cooking and tasted just as good. I only used about 1/3 cup of sugar, and it was plenty sweet. Didn't have any evaporated milk, so I just used a splash of skim, and it worked fine. They had a great texture-- nice and firm and no falling apart. I think I will make extra sauce next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I have made this recipe at least 12 times now. It is loved by all. The meatballs have a strong flavor so it is ok to add more ground beef without adjusting the other ingredients. I also always double the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Berish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I left out the evaporated milk to make the recipe "kosher-friendly", and my family just LOVED them! Went great with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were terrific. Instead of the homemade sauce, I used 1 1/4 cup of KC masterpiece. I also added extra seasoning salt and garlic. Make sure to use good quality ground round or ground chuck. I also later did a pan with marinara sauce and topped with parmesan and mozzerela when finished. It made excellent sub sandwiches.. These were a big hit at a party we had, with either sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica-Rabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
These were great! We had friends over for dinner and ate almost the entire pan! I used worcestershire sauce in lieu of the liquid smoke per my husband's request, but will probably try it the original way next time. It didn't have much of a "bbq" taste, it tasted a lot like my meatloaf. Will also have to double the sauce next time as was previously recommended. I was concerned because the balls were so mushy when I was shaping them, but the cooked texture was perfect. ***UPDATE - I have since made these with the liquid smoke, and doubled the sauce. WOW, I have to change my rating from 4 to 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishelle Maul
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe for a potluck, and they were so good. Very moist, and the sauce got nice and sticky. The only change I made was adding dried minced onions to the glaze instead of raw, because I used all the raw onion in the meatballs and didn't want to cut more. These will definitely be part of the rotation in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mishelle Maul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is so tasty! The glaze on top is perfect-kind of like a sweet home made barbecue sauce. The family loved it. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States