BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Tried these tonight for supper, over white rice. The only thing I tweaked with this recipe was using 1/2 cup brown sugar in the sauce. The meatballs were GREAT!! They might just be my new fav! The sauce... Well it was different, not sure if I'll use it again. The meatballs are a must though, and would be great with your own favorite sauce. Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Fawn
Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Spirit River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars, I would - they were delicious, and relatively easy to make! My husband could hardly stop eating them. I added a pinch of cayenne pepper to the glaze/sauce; the only other thing I would change is to cut back on the sugar (I only used 3/4 cup instead of the full cup, and we still found it a little too sweet). I know I will be making these often, and with more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Best meatballs I've ever had by far! I love how the BBQ sauce is sweet and spicy at the same time. I like to use cayenne pepper instead of the chilli powder and it adds a really nice kick without being too overpowering. It makes the contrast between sweet and spicy more noticeable. My husband and I love it. He wanted me to use habanero powder but I had to draw the line somewhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These meatballs made for a family pleasing meal. I prepared these weeks before we actually had them, and then stuck them in the freezer. The night before we had them for dinner, I put them in the fridge and then the slow cooker the next morning with the sauce poured over. Six hours later, they were tender, juicy, and ready to eat. My husband and one daughter had these on hoagie rolls, and the rest of us enjoyed them over white rice. Considering how easy they were to make, freeze, and prepare, we will be having these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really good! I used extra lean ground turkey instead of beef and skim milk instead of the evaporated (about 1/4c). After I cooked the meatballs, I froze them for later in the week. I threw the frozen meatballs in the crockpot, made and poured the sauce on top and cooked on low for about 6 hours. Smell was amazing. I also decreased the brown sugar t 1/3c which was plenty sweet. I also added 1 tsp of liquid smoke instead of the full tablespoon. So yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious!! My son said "Make this again". For the meatballs I used regular oats and milk as that is what I had. The sauce was a bit of an adventure as I wanted to make 1.5 times the recipe and I didn't have enough ketchup (about 3/4 cup). I ended up adding a bit of barbecue sauce and then a small can of tomatoe paste and a can of water. Used about 1/3 cup of onion, 2 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Was still delicious in spite of my patching it together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Tasted more like meatloaf. I doubt I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Weber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved the Glaze, the meatballs were good, but not 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made roughly 1/3 of this recipe for the meatballs, but made the full amount of sauce. I used regular milk rather than the evaporated milk, and I drastically reduced the amount of brown sugar in the sauce, using only about 2 T. I had red, yellow, orange and green bell peppers that needed to be used up, so I sautéed them for about 5 minutes and tossed them in with the meatballs. These were good served over jasmine rice, but I didn’t care for the liquid smoke. I guess I’m just not a fan. I would make these again but I would omit or reduce the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are so amazing!!! I made the recipe the way it called for first. It was like eating candy - I couldn't stop! Next time might cut down on the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States