BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a favorite among my entire family! I made it with oats the first time and wasn't a huge fan. I subsituted panko bread crumbs in place of the oats and it was fantastic. The sauce is tasty and we love it served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! I've made it soooo many times now and it still comes out perfect! My whole family loves these (including my picky kids)! My husband is a home-made freak who has to have everything home-made and absolutely LOVES them! NOTHING is wrong with this recipe AT ALL! Every single thing is PERFECT! I keep seeing people who add this or that to "make it better" but you seriously don't need to add ANYthing! I don't normally write reviews for recipes but this is well deserved! I make them for dinner, church dinners, family get-togethers, anything. I love to make them for little appetizers, too. I just make them a little smaller and stick a tooth pick in them. yuuuuummmmy! Thank you to whoever made this recipe and posted it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
THE HIT of my last party. I doubled the recipe and even used a bit more ground beef than called for, and more onion than called for, too. Added a bottle of good, store-bought hickory bbq sauce because I wanted to be sure I had enough sauce for my party. It was totally amazing and I did have enough sauce! I, too, cut the sugar in half and it was PLENTY sweet--will probably use only a 3rd of the required sugar next time. Based on everyone's reactions at the party, I am quite sure that I will be asked to bring these meatballs to future events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by key151
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This sauce was to die for. I doubled all sauce ingredients except brown sugar. I will never buy prepared bbq sauce again, and I am not much of a bbq sauce fan. This dish will be in my permanent rotation. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These were pretty good, but nothing special. Using oats rather than breadcrumbs gave the meatballs a fluffier texture. I had to make a couple substitutions based on what I had: 2% rather than evaporated milk and worcestershire sauce instead of liquid smoke. Based on other reviews, I cut back on the sugar, but the sauce was still nothing remarkable, just a typical homemade barbecue sauce. The meatballs also only took about 45 minutes to cook. I like that they are baked (never thought of that!); it's easier, cleaner, and maybe a bit healthier. I'll consider using oats in place of breadcrumbs in the future, and may add liquid smoke to bbq sauce if I ever get ahold of any, but will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and these were a hit. Highly addictive. My favourite recipe for meatballs now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very yummy. The man of the house even commented on how good they were. I followed the recipe except for doubling the sauce and halving the sugar. I put half the sauce over the meatballs before they went in the oven, then turned them half way through the cooking time and put on the remainder of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Not as popular at my dinner party as noted. They were good, but not as great as others noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was unbelievable! I loved it, the only change I made was that I substituted the oats for instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Marie Slade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These have become our go-to recipe for potlucks and family dinners. The only change I've made is to use onion powder in the glaze, but only because it's a personal preference (I'm not a big onion fan anyway). The sauce is fabulous as is - I've never seen a reason to reduce the amount of brown sugar. Again, probably a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Engteach08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States