BBQ Dry Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Used this for grilling a couple of pork roasts for wraps and they turned out fantastic. Tweaked it a little bit by adding about a 1/4 cup of chili powder, but this recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryronic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This is the BEST rub I have ever tasted!!!! I just ran out so was looking for the recipe to make more. Our whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brad & cindy's kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Awesome recipe! I was worried about the amount of salt and pepper but it was perfect! Would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is a great recipe. I just wanted to add two things. 1. If the rub is clumping, burning, or getting sticky you probably have large pieces of brown sugar. Mix the brown sugar into the rub in stages and make sure you crush any large chunks or they will burn. 2. Try cutting the salt and pepper by 25% each. If you still think it is too much then cut a total of 50%. Try replacing whatever you take one with a 4:4:1 mix of onion powder, garlic powder, and cumin. It worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is really good - used about half the salt recipe called for. We put it on boneless pork chops and grilled, next time we plan to try it on chicken. It's a very easy rub to have on-hand for last minute meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is good enough like it is, that I've adopted it and adapted it with my own touches to make it my own: Garlic, onion, and chipotle powders. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I used this recipe on ribs and chicken. Rave reviews from everyone. The only thing that I done different was to use Kosher salt instead of table salt, it seems to work better for me. Very good recipe and it makes enough to share with someone else! Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
If I could give this recipe 100 stars I would. We absolutely LOVED this. The only suggestion I would make is to cut the salt to a quarter of a cup (if you are sodium sensitive). But,otherwise..YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I discovered this recipe today. Made it, ate it, and loved it!!! My husband and I devoured a whole rack of pork ribs. It was an insane feeding frenzy. We usually don't go from civilized to animal-like when at the dinner table, but we never cooked tasty ribs like this either. I have to admit that I did follow the suggestions of several other reviewers by adding other seasonings. My husband and I have a palate for bold flavors. So, I experimented with all sorts of spices that I had in my spice rack (tandori spices, chipotle spices, chili powder, cayenne, onion powder, garlic powder, and season salt). I ran a taste test to compare how this recipe would stand up to two store-bought dry rubs (Porky's Memphis Dry Rub and McCormick's Grill Mate's Pork Rub). By far, this recipe beat out the competition. The sweet, salty flavors just enhanced the meat. We literally could not wait to take the next bite. I recommend this recipe to all. I also recommend experimenting with several spices to cater to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States