BBQ Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This method was the absolute worst! After 3 hours and following the recipe to a tee, the ribs were completely raw in the middle. I had to crank the oven up to 350, cover them and put them back in for another 45 minutes and then they were drier than dry. Not sure what the lemon was supposed to add because no one could taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner by Design

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is a great recipe for this type of pork - I cooked the first 2 hours at 300 Degrees coved and then uncovered for 45 min at 400 - Loved the lemons that was a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My husband believes in cooking ribs on the grill until he had these ribs!! He LOVED it & has continuously followed this recipe for the last 2 years. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
tried this today... didnt have the lemons but i fixed it anyhow and it was very yummy.... very easy ribs to fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pioneer, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This did not turn out well for me at all! The recipe specified 10 country style ribs but not really the size, thickness, or weight, which is important. The first time I had to cook them about twice as long and the second time even longer than that after adding the sauce, as they were not done in the middle in the time specified. I bought the boneless ribs at a bulk store and they were quite large. They also had about 1/2" thick piece of fat on the bottom of each piece I did not see when I purchased it. I don't know if that is normal? But, they were still country style ribs, which I have made before. My meat ended up being like "dry pork chops," with "large unedible rubbery pieces of fat," and a sauce that did not seem to get absorbed into the meat. I expected tender pork from the recipe and loved how few ingredients were listed. But, the end result was pork to dry and hard to eat, and it ended up a waste of money as it was unsalvageable and unfortunately got tossed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed directions, except I used lemon juice instead of sliced lemons. I also covered with foil for the first two hours since the lemon sliced would have probably kept it more moist. I found them to be a bit less tender than everyone says, but it was probably because they were more meaty than most country style ribs. Will try again and cook for longer as some folks suggested. They still got rave reviews, even if they were more work to eat. Will try other sauces as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Loved this recipe and so did my husband and three kids. I followed the directions exactly except I didn't have fresh lemons so I used lemon juice. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was great! I used teriyaki sauce instead of bbq sauce and everyone in my family thought it was amazing. (I used about 1/3 of a bottle total on about 8 large pieces, put it back in the oven for 15 minutes -- at 350F now since everyone was getting antsy to eat -- turned them, then in for only another 10-15 minutes and they were perfect!) We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent. I added a rub to the ribs before covering with garlic and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Really good..after reading many reviews before preparing this recipe I would only comment that if your ribs are very large or thick cut, it is going to take longer to cook than the recipe states. My ribs were very large so I allowed an extra hour for the initial baking time and they turned out great. Check them before you put the sauce on. If they are still tough and the juices look reddish....recover and continue to bake awhile longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States