BBQ Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly (cut in half for the two of us), and after three hours of slow cooking the meat was dry and tough. I had to add more sauce to my portion to eat it, and then it was too sweet. I think it would be better to boil the meat and just bake it with the sauce for the last few minutes. I don't like dry or tough meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Pretty good recipe with a few modifications. I did as others suggested and used water as I had no lemon slices. I cooked it for 2 hours at 300 with tightly wrapped aluminum foil on it, i seasoned with celery salt, salt, pepper and ground mustard. I then put the bbq sauce on and left foil on for another 20 min and removed for the last 40. Turned out pretty darn good for my first time! Hubby liked it said only one was a little tougher to eat and it was a thicker one so it may of needed cooking longer not sure. But overall good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Turned out GOOOOOD!!!! For me being a first time rib cooker and complete amateur at cooking this was a simple recipe to follow and soo YUMMY when done. On a whim I picked up country style ribs then googled a recipe.I read a lot of the reviews from this recipe and decided to try it with out adding water. I only put salt, pepper, and freshly grated garlic( I did not have a lemon) on my 8 boneless country style ribs. Then I covered the dish with tin foil like others had suggested. I cooked it at 275(my oven has a gap and loses heat)for 2hr30min. I poured generous amounts of Country Bob's sauce over the top of each rib, cooked for 1/2hr then poured the rest of the sauce over each and cooked for another hour. My husband wants me to make more ASAP and my 7yr old even liked them!! Thank you so much for the easy recipe Coolundrprsr. Next time I will make sure to have lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used boneless country ribs and they turned out super dry. I usually cover my ribs when baking them but it didn't indicate to do so so I didn't. bad move. If you're going to make these please tightly cover with foil after the first 25 minutes of baking. you'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not a big fan of ribs cooked this way. They weren't nearly as "fall apart" tender as when they are in the slow cooker all day. In fact these weren't tender much at all. I needed a steak knife to cut them. I wouldn't make country style ribs this way ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and after 2 hours my 6 country style ribs were almost raw. I had wrapped them in aluminum foil, and there was plenty of liquid from the lemon, but the ribs were no where near done. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I decided to put my own spin on this recipe combining multiple suggestions from other reviews. Here is what I used: 1.5lbs country style ribs, 2 TBS Worcester sauce, 2 TBS soy sauce, 1 TBS lemon juice, 2 TBS minced garlic, 1 TBS garlic/onion grill rub. I combined all of the ingredients and then baked the ribs in a glass container for three hours on 250 with 1/4" water and 1 TBS coke in the bottom of the container wrapped tightly in foil. I then drained and covered them in sweet baby rays and baked at 450 for about 20 mins which gave the ribs a nice thick glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneymoonChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Great recipe! I did stick with the garlic & lemon slices but I added water to the bottom of the pan. The 1st 2 hours I cooked it in a glass cake pan cover in foil @ 300 degrees. Then I drained off the liquid & put the lemon slices off to the side of the meat, smothered the ribs in Bulls Eye BBQ sauce & put back in the oven for 45 minutes @ 250 degrees. The lemon took everyone by surprise at 1st but the guys gave it a chance & ended up saying the meat was wonderfully tender & the lemon was... different. I would make this recipe again but am curious to see how orange slices would taste rather than lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were great! I don't usually have any luck with ribs of any variety, so I'm so glad these turned out how they did! I took the advice of others and put a bit of water on the bottom of the pan, and covered the ribs in kosher salt, minced garlic, and fresh ground pepper before cooking in the oven at 300 for 2 hours sealed in a large roasting pan with foil. Then I drained the pan, covered the ribs in bbq sauce, and put them back in the oven for another 45 at 250. They were falling apart, it was great! Next time, I'm thinking about putting the sauce on and throwing them on the grill, just for that flavor. Great recipe, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I cooked these tonight and one thing is for certain, it took more than 3 hours for me to attain that fall off the bone tenderness. More like 4 1/2 and I cooked them in a roast pot, bottom covered in foil, with the lid on for the first 2 hours at 260 degrees, then took the lemon off and added the bbq sauce and cooked covered for another hour at 260 and then uncovered for 30 minutes at 300 and they were tender, but not enough. It was 30 minutes past dinner at this point, so I had to take them out. After dinner, I put them back in the over, covered and cooked for another hour at 350 and they were falling off the bone tender. In the past I have absolutely HATED this cut of pork because it was always prepared baked in the oven with a gravy and I just didnt like the taste. But now that I have this recipe, I love country style pork ribs and btw they were delish! A real winner with everyone in my family, even with them not being really tender the way I expected after reading the reviews. So I give them 5 stars for showing me a better way to cook and enjoy this simple and inexpensive cut of meat! p.s. I added my usual house seasoning to this meat: paprika, mesquite seasoning, garlic powder, reduced sodium salt, pepper, meat tenderizer and for this meat, added a touch of brown sugar, to sweeten the taste of the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States