BBQ Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Finger-licking good!! We all loved these wings. I don't use oyster sauce so I used more soy sauce instead, and I substituted brandy for the gin. I also added the honey to the marinade rather than brushing it on. After I took out the wings, I boiled the marinade and served it as a dipping sauce. People also used the sauce on their burger sandwiches and the flavor was beyond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I won the prize for best appetizer using drumettes. I saved some marinade and thickened it and then brushed on as I baked them at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barkhamsted, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It was pretty good. THink I will leave out clam sauce though next time. had a slight fishy after taste. Will add more ketchup or perhaps BBQ sauce into it. I will also try to make it hotter(spicy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Delicious chicken wings, I am from western New York and believe me I know wings! I followed the recipe exactly; I marinated them overnight and my only difference was to bake them in the oven. I chose this recipe because I am always looking for something different and the gin stood out. I will make this again however I will omit the gin - it gave a slightly bitter taste. I will also leave out the soy sauce, it didn't add flavor just more salt. I disagree with another reviewer that bottled teriyaki marinade is just as good, no way. This is a good recipe and in my opinion will be better with slight modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Great tailgating recipe! I followed everything in the recipe with the exception of the liquid smoke (as I didn't have any) and I used chicken drummettes instead. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!! It will be our staple tailgating recipe for the upcoming season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this recipe without the gin for a church group of men. I think they died and went to heaven when they ate these wings. The other thing I did different was that I baked them in a 350 degree oven for 30 to 40 minutes. Yum! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a tasty sauce. I especially liked the oyster sauce giving it an interesting flavor. I might use it on plain chicken breasts in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Great flavour. Don't make it if you don't like sweet wings. Otherwise you will love this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is a keeper! I didn't have oyster sauce, and they still turned out great. I sprayed a piece of foil with Pam and placed it on the grill then put the wings on it. This helped keep them from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States