BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and was greatly disappointed. WAY too much work and with all the ingredients I would have expected better flavor. I ended up adding a cup of regular BBQ sauce to make this edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This recipe is really yummy!! It gave new life to some leftover chicken breasts. Most importantly it was easy to make the sauce and re-heat the chicken. My picky 9 and 11 year old boys loved it! They normally complain when we have leftovers but I'm getting better at disguising them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it gets an ok rating. I think it's the lemon juice/liquid smoke combo which gives it an odd tang. If I make this again, I would substitute good old cider vinegar for the lemon juice. Also, I would definitely NOT add any liquid smoke till the sauce has cooked through a bit and even then, add in by drops/taste. (I simmered it on very low for about 45 minutes). The stated amount of liquid smoke seemed to overpower everything. I ended up doctoring it by adding a tablespoon of cider vinegar and a good squirt of KC Masterpiece. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was a really good recipe. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ollied

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I spent 3 hours in the kitchen this morning so I would have the perfect BBQ Chicken Sandwich. I started with the homemade buns, and then worked on the BBQ Chicken and then I used Paula Deen's Coleslaw Recipe for the topping. The sandwich looked like a 5 star sandwich when I was finished with it. It was good too, but was way to sweet for me. It just boils down to personal preference, and I like BBQ spicy and not too sweet. If you prefer a sweet BBQ sauce you will really enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Karr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Yum!"Kewlness" is what my daughter said. Great recipe. We used only chicken breasts as that is what we like. We also doubled the sauce and saved half in the fridge. Planning to get a rotissere (sp?) chicken and use with the rest of the sauce for a quick sandwich on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These sandwiches are delicious. I did feel the need to make a minor modification because I like my barbecue a little more 'saucy.' I made 1 1/2 batches of the sauce for the amount of chicken called for in this recipe. The sauce itself had a really nice, sweet & smokey flavor. If you're looking for a spicy BBQ, you probably would need to add some cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Doubled this and served it to company. Daring, huh? Well, everyone really liked it, even the children. I didn't use all the mustard as my hubby doesn't care for it that much. It's a little sweeter than most BBQ's and really good with the slaw on top!! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I do this with chicken breast in the crock-pot. I followed some of the advice I read here and just threw all the ingrediants in together--I didn't even thaw the chicken. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Only BBQ Chicken recipe I use. Only thing I did different, was to NOT add the 5 Tbsp of garlic. Other than that, followed recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Circleville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States