BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was excellent! I agree, the cole slaw really made the sandwich and blended so well with the flavors of the barbeque sauce! The only thing I'll do differently next time is to not shred the chicken so finely. It ended up getting a little mushy, and I like mine a bit chunkier. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Sarina!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
I've never done BBQ chicken and was surprised at how good it was. I used 6 chicken breasts instead of whole chickens and cut the mustard to 1/2 cup, otherwise followed recipe exactly and it was delicious. Made about 10 good-sized sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
One thing I love about this site is the chance to read the reviews for a recipe. However, I usually don't understand why people change a recipe before they even try it and then review the changes not the original recipe. I am afraid I am guilty though of doing that this time myself. The recipe called for 5 T of minced garlic. Well my jar of minced garlic said that would be equal to 10-15 cloves of garlic so I said no way! I put in only 2 T and it was just right, but I am not a huge garlic fan. I also bought 3 lbs of boneless chicken breasts and boiled them for almost 3 hours...very tender! I also put in only 1/2 cup dejon mustard and may only put in 1/3 next time. And there will be a next time because these sandwiches were FANTASTIC. I would not recommend using bottled BBQ sauce though because this recipe has a very unique tasts. Also the slaw is absolutely mandatory so don't leave that off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this for a faculty lunch. Everyone complimented me on it and wanted the recipe. I used all white meat and had to use extra sauce. THe cole slaw on top was new to me but was WONDERFUL!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I used whole chickens we roasted on the bbq. Peeled the meat off the bone and put it in the sauce. What a hit!!! I am glad it makes a good amount I ended up feeding my family and half of their friends and some neighbors! Everyone loved it! My picky son who never likes anything said he would eat it again if I made it. Wow! I really don't care for bbq sauce and I even loved it. I will pass this on and make it again! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was a hit at our 4th of July party even without the coleslaw. Doubled the recipe, used boneless skinless chicken breasts cooked in the crockpot. Don't leave out the Liquid Smoke--it makes the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was the best!!! I used boneless chicken breasts and threw it all in the crockpot. It came out great!! I used the recipe for Restaurant-Style Coleslow I submitted by Marsha. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! My ENTIRE very picky family loved it. It has loads of flavor without being overwhelmingly spicy. Unfortunately my family is not pro-garlic, so I decreased the garlic amount to 2 teaspoons of powdered garlic which is the equivalant of 6 cloves. Also, I don't like dark meat and I made this for a crowd, so I used 12 of the costco frozen Tyson chicken breasts that I boiled for about 45 minutes. I also doubled the sauce and it made the 12 shredded breasts nice and goopy. :) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Made these sandwiches yesterday, and they came out great! Yum! I used the recipe with one package of chicken breast (about 2 lbs). I added about 2 Tbsp hot sauce and 2 Tbsp cayenne (we like our food with a lot of zing!). Also used molasses instead of honey - am nursing an infant. The sauce was so tangy and good! I used the Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I recipe on this site. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States