BBQ Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made this the other day when my kids came over. Followed the recipe x We smoked 3 whole chickens the day before and deboned them. The following day added all ingredients together plus a little hot sauce for kick, and slow cooked it the oven until warmed through. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. Because I used chicken breasts (two cut in half), I was able to use my small crockpot to make this. This turned out well but it seemed to be missing something. Half a recipe--no leftovers. Whatever was left in the crockpot, my husband ate over the crockpot with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This sauce is fabulous. My son made this with boneless chicken breasts, double the sauce, and used a crock pot for 4 hours. I have made just the sauce to go with veggie burgers. The sauce alone is much better than any bottled sauce I have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
EXCELLENT recipe! I use boneless/skinless chicken breasts. Boil the chicken for 3-4 hours then shred with two forks. (We always Double the ingredients for the sauce because it has come out more dry than what we like in the past) Prepare sauce just before you shred the chicken. Place chicken in Crockpot on Low and add your sauce! It's also amazing with Coleslaw! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
As I was throwing all the ingredients into the bowl, I was really skeptical, but once everything was in there the sauce smelled amazing! I cut back on the garlic because I thought it seemed like too much, but next time I will use all 5 TBSP. I only used 1/2 cup of mustard because my husband can only eat it if it's well disguised. I took the advice of another reviewer and used 4 large chicken breasts and threw everything in the slow cooker. I kept a good eye on it and began shredding some of it here and there as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very tasty! What is nice about this BBQ sauce is that you can control the amount of sweetness and seasonings. I had to scale this down for three people tonight. I used 2 skinless boneless chicken breasts for this recipe. I had 1/2 cup of chicken broth so I put that into a pot with the sauce. Once the sauce came up to a boil I added the chicken meat, covered it with a lid, and let it simmer on low for 4 hours. By this time the chicken meat was tender. I shred the chicken meat and let it sit in all its juices. I lightly toasted the hamburger buns under an oven broiler before topping with the meat and sauce mixture. I prepared, "Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I," from this website, which is VERY good I must add. With the bbq chicken topped with coleslaw, this makes a good match and satisfying meal. The chicken meat is juicy and tender. In every bite I have a mouthful of flavorful bbq sauce which is both sweet and slightly "tangy". My family thought it a bit too tangy for their tastes but I really like it. I plan to keep the sauce recipe in mind for other bbq meats or marinades only I will have to tone it down a bit on the mustard, lemon juice and garlic. This went perfectly with our hot buttered corn on the cobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
omg....these were so good. I was a bit skeptical on putting cole slaw on a sandwich, but it was incredible. Followed the recipe exactly....it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was pretty good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Nivens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Amazing!! I made it an the crock pot and served it with the slaw. We had it a few weeks ago and I'm really craving it again now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was awesome!!!! Every member of the family loved it!! Can't wait to make it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States