BBQ Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
WON 1ST PLACE IN CHICKEN SALAD CONTEST at church with this. Changed a few things: did not use the celery, dressing was 1/2 Famous Daves bbq sauc 1/2 mayo and added fresh ground black pepper & italian basil in blender. Quadrupled recipe. Chopped veggies like I wanted them in the salad and smoked each veggie for one hour with hickory wood in their own container tossed with canola oil, salt and pepper. Onions, 3 colored bell peppers and vidalia onions also had a sprinkle of sugar. Used wood (Traeger) grill and cooked seasoned chicken breast (marinated 24+ hrs)on high for 40 min. Chopped the chicken into small bite sizes and tossed together and chilled for several hours. Comments were: taste was so complex and they all worked together, delicious, two thumbs up, never tasted a salad like this, fabulous, and more...just don't want to brag :) Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was really tasty!! I added a little extra onion and one green bell pepper. And I actually forgot to add the corn and it was still a big hit! Everyone loved it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LearningToCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was easy, quick, and filling. I subbed the celery, peppers, and onions, for lettuce and avacado for the vegetables. I kept the corn the same and the dressing ratios. When cooking the chicken I sauteed them in olive oil and sprinkled heavily with Penzeys bbq 3001 seasoning, keeping within the same flavors. I mixed all of the ingredients as suggested, but kept the bbq dressing on the side. I have never made a bbq flavored salad. It was pretty good. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I used leftover bbq'd chicken and followed the recipe as given. It was very good! My husband doesn't usually like chicken in a salad for some unknown (even to him) reason, but he liked this and wants to have it again. Thanks, Deborah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was really good! Chicken salads are very versatile as the "most helpful" reviews will attest. I used leftover BBQ chicken from our Memorial Day cookout with the neighbors. Two recommendations, a splash or two of lemon juice and cut the celery down to two ribs (four is just way too much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
The mixture of mayo and bbq sauce was unappealing. I tried a few different varieties but it just didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was pretty good. I used leftover grilled chicken cut up into cubes. Great change for a chicken salad lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Tasty recipe. I made it the night before and then added thawed (and drained) frozen corn, cucumbers and chopped cherry tomatoes to it the morning before I served the salad. That ensured it didn't get too soggy, and the texture was great! A nice, quick, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I made this yesterday for lunch. It was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Excellent for leftover barbecue chicken! I didn't have any red onion, and it was still sooo yummy. Great quick recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Hoffecker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States