BBQ Chicken Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
After reading all the reviews I was a bit conflicted about how to proceed. So, I reverted to the half and half approach. On one half of the pizza, I followed the basic intent of the recipe. I used shrimp instead of chicken, a substitution I often make. And, I used a mix of colby and pepper jack for the cheese. I also added a bit of freshly chopped garlic to the crust before adding the sauce. The combination of flavors is excellent and for us the amounts are off. I used only 1/2 cup sauce on the entire pizza and it was plenty - one cup would have been way too much for our tastes. I also cut down on the amounts of all the other ingredients. I guess I tend to take a 'less is more' approach to pizza toppings. Adjusted for the half of the pizza, I used only 1/2 the amount of sauce and probably 1/3 the amount of the other ingredients listed in the recipe. On the second half I subbed a mix of mozzarella and colby, and I left off the pepperocini and subbed carmelized onions for regular. That half was also excellent - a far more mellow approach. Of the two, we preferred the original combination of flavors designated in the recipe - just at much smaller amounts. Flavor = 5 star, amounts = 3 star for an average of a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This pizza is so easy to make. I had to make four of them for a group of 10 and everyone was raving about them. Only change was taking one of the reviewer advise and soaking the chicken in bbq sauce before putting on the crust. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Just OK, lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was amazing....used a Boboli crust, Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce (our fave), a container of Lloyds BBQ shredded chicken, red onion, green peppers sliced thin instead of the pepperoncini and the Colby/Jack cheeses.....just delicious, messy and and very easy. Made this on the grill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Syryn
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Delicious after I made a few tweaks! I used my own whole wheat pizza dough I made myself, and brushed the pan with olive oil, sprinkled with garlic salt and Italian seasonings. I really enjoy that flavor of Bull's Eye Original BBQ sauce and it doesn't have any high fructose corn syrup in it. The taste of the BBQ sauce really matters. I also sometimes use mozzarella cheese instead, and it is still wonderful! Great recipe, and I get a ton of compliments on how tasty it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My husband says this is the best pizza I've ever made! I only used 1 chicken breast (and it was plenty!). I added 3 strips of cooked bacon (chopped up), and I carmelized the onions in a frying pan before adding them to the pizza. Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Chipotle bbq sauce has just the right amount of heat. I used a shredded 4 cheese Italian mix. I buttered the whole crust, slathered in minced garlic, and baked for a few minutes before adding the toppings. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariel E.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Delicious and quick! Followed recipe, but used a store bought pizza blend (mozzarella, asiago, Parmesan, and smoked provolone) for the cheese. Also followed other reviewers suggestion of baking the chicken to keep the juiciness and it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariel E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I could literally taste the cilantro from down the hallway in my apartment. The cilantro and onions were overwhelming and I didn't even use the full amounts. I just wasn't digging this, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Worst homemade pizza I've ever had. I agree on the ingredients to go in it as I've made something similar. The amount of ingredients stated for this made it taste like a pile of hot garbage. I've made BBQ chicken pizza before and it is much easier to gauge how much you put in it by eye. Good ingredients. Awful amounts. Also I recommend buying dough from a pizza shop. I make (great) homemade pizza frequently and this is by far the worst one I've had. Gauge the ingredients by eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jz040488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Love it! I use two packs of generic pizza dough mix (for a slightly thicker crust, which I pre-bake a bit first), and two medium chicken breasts. Cook and dice the chicken & coat with BBQ sauce first before adding to the pizza. I omitted the peppers completely and use an Italian seasoning on it before baking instead of the cilantro, which I rarely have on hand. I eyeball all of the ingredients and it comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States