BBQ Chicken Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is a great weeknight recipe that we make at least twice a month! Sometimes we use the Pillsbury pizza crust dough and other times, we make our own. But either way, it is delicious. NOTE: The best way I've found to pre-cook the chicken is to place each breast in the center of a square piece of aluminum foil and sprinkle on both sides with salt (and pepper, if desired). Fold up the sides of the foil to form a sealed packet. Place the packets on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. The chicken will come out moist and delicious. Simply cube the chicken and it is ready to add to your recipes (chicken salad, chicken ala king, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Many of the reviews seemed to take issue with the ingredient amounts so I used my cook's intuition and eye-balled everything. I omitted the pepperocinis (better served on the side like Papa Johns), approx. doubled the chicken, kept the rest of the measurements approx. the same, and made TWO medium pizza crusts with the ingredients instead of just one. The key to keeping the chicken moist and flavorful is mixing a few TBSP of BBQ sauce into the cubed chicken before topping the pizza. Otherwise, the edges tend to dry out while cooking. Also, slice the onions super thin so they will cook more quickly. If you have the time, I would definitely recommend making Jay's signature pizza crust over using a store-bought kind -- it turned out crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Homemade crust is surprisingly easy to make, tastes fresher, and saves a lot of money. This pizza tastes great (very close to CPK) but I gave 4 stars because of the modifications. This recipe will probably taste great with some pineapples too (similar to Davd & Buster's BBQ hawaiian pizza that seems to have disappeared off the menu).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Good Recipe. My boyfriend and I always eat the chicken barbeque pizza at California Pizza Kitchen, and this is very close. I don't know about the peppers though. I love them, but not on my pizza, I don't think that would taste right. I also used 3 chicken breasts instead of 2. And whoever suggested making pizza dough out of bisquick is wrong. Bisquick doesn't make pizza dough. Thanks for turning a perfectly good pizza into chicken and barbeque sauce on a biscuit. I did it to try and save money like they did and it was not very good. First of all, 1 1/2 cups of bisquick only made about enough "dough" to cover half on my pan. Next time, I'll try using a real recipe for pizza dough. Other than that, the pizza was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
You're right when you say it tastes like the CPK pizza! Yummy! I ommitted the pepperoncini peppers and substituted it with green bell pepper. I also used a mix of mozzarella and monterey jack cheese. Make sure you slice the onion and pepper thinly (it tastes best that way). I just had regular bbq sauce, so I added a dash of hot sauce and boy, it gave it a kick. Good stuff, will be making again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This was really a quick and easy recipie and my husband loved it. To make it a bit cheaper, we made a Bisquick pizza crust (1 1/2 cups Bisquick and 3/4 cup very hot water. Mix into dough then spread on pizza stone/pan). Just put the topping on the uncooked crust and bake it for 15 mintues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I've been wanting to make this for a long time. I mixed my BBQ sauce right with the shredded meat of 3 breasts before then spread it over the crust.....sprinkled it with a diced fresh jalapeno (didn't have pepponcini)and covered with mozzarella and cheddar (didn't have cilantro or red onion). IT WAS GREAT!!! I can't wait to try it again WITH the red onion. The hot pepper gave it just a bit of heat. Went great with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
I made this exactly like the recipe says (except the peppers because I didn't have any) the first time and found the bbq sauce quite overpowering. since then, i add a few tablespoons of my favorite bbq sauce to prego spaghetti sauce, and spread that mixture over a boboli crust (i'm lazy!!!) and top with all of the toppings except the peppers (they are too expensive). when served with salad and a nice red wine, it makes for a very fun meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Used Bobolis in the small size to make individual pizzas. I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. I do think some of the measurements were off on the recipe and just eyeballed the amounts that I wanted on each one. Definitely use the pepperconi and red onion, it helps round out all the flavor of the pizza, otherwise you have come BBQ chicken on a crust. Also, used regular BBQ sauce but dashed on some Tabasco. Used a combination of mozzerella and mild chedder cheese. It looked so good even before I put it in the oven. Plan on making this again tomorrow night for friends. This recipe is terrific and I wouldn't say that if it truly weren't. Easy preparation also. I eat CPK BBQ pizza all the time and this is pretty much on it if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really like this recipe a lot and you can cater to your own taste. I used Stubb's spicy BBQ sauce. I marinated my chicken with a little mesquite sauce and seasoned with some salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic salt and red pepper flakes. I also put a couple tablespoons of the BBQ sauce in with the chicken while it was cooking on the skillet. I cut my chicken into cubes before cooking so it didn't take as long to cook on the skillet. I sauteed some white onion and green bellpepper with a little diced garlic (instead of using peppers and red onion). I also only used about 3/4 cup of sauce to spread on the crust. I sprinkled a little mozzarella cheese on top after I layered everyting else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Who would have thought that chicken on a pizza could be this good! My husband does NOT like new things.. picky picky.. but he offered to try it, because he didn't know what was beneath all that cheese! Surprised? HE LOVED IT! It's a new favourite! Didn't use the pepper's they called for, but used roasted red peppers.. and Bullseye original BBQ sauce. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Chicken Pesto Pizza

Presto, it’s pesto! Enjoy a quick-and-easy chicken pesto pizza.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States