BBQ Chicken Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were easy enough (esp since I always have shredded chicken in the freezer!) & tasty enough that I may make them again, in a pinch, but we didn't LOVE them. I don't care for BBQ sauce, so I made 1/2 w/BBQ sauce and the other 1/2 w/Frank's Red Hot. As someone who's never used crescent rolls, the directions are a bit ambiguous, stating to start at the "short" end...to me, that meant the tip of the triangle, as that was the "shortest" portion of dough. I'd already made 4 (and was wondering why they looked "off"), when I decided to try it the other (correct!) way. The good news is it was easy enough to unroll, slide the stuff, and re-roll the incorrect ones. While these probably won't become a staple at the LTH house, they will make a nice "in a pinch" throw together hearty appetizer for unexpected guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This hit the spot for my family! I was looking for something 'kid friendly' as my husband and I always love exotic fair. I figured to give my kids a break and try something new, fun looking and easy to eat. I chose this since I had some chicken staring at me in the fridge, needing to be used. I'm glad I did. The kids didn't even question it (ages 5 and 7) and ate it up. And to my surprise, even my husband (who isn't picky, but his favorites are always pretty complicated) really liked it and even requested to have it more often! I wasn't the biggest fan ever, but hey, it was easy, it was tasty and my family all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I used a can of the Big and Flaky Crescent Rolls because I knew my kids would scarf down the smaller ones and be looking for more. They turned out great. This is one of those recipes you can throw together in a flash and your kids think you're a genius! Younger kids and teenagers will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Perfect game day food! They even look like little footballs! This was so easy to do and the chicken mixture can be made ahead of time to set you free to watch the game. I followed the recipe but sprinkled the cheddar cheese during the last two minutes of baking so it wouldn't burn. Thank you Pillsbury for an excellent game day recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
A good concept but it was missing something. We made it exactly as stated and we all felt it needed more of a kick to it. We did just use a basic store bought BBQ sauce in a bottle so maybe that had something to do with it. I'll try it again but I will kick up the BBQ, add some grilled/sauteed onions and a lot more cheese. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just made one change, I substituted BBQ sauce for hot sauce, deliciously perfect!! I also made a wreath instead of sandwiches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I think this has to be more of an acquired taste. It wasn't for me. It has a awkward sweet after taste. I used sweet baby rays barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole0829

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I'm a brand ambassador and for October we were assigned to make 1 of 5 Pillsbury recipes. This recipe was one that I chose. I found it easy to make, and it's simple enough for a child (w/ supervision) to make. I didn't have any issues w/ the product burning. I'm not sure I would make it again but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I mixed some shredded cheese in with the chicken/bbq sauce mixture and then added a little more before rolling up. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was pretty good...but I would probably use my own pulled chicken recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States