BBQ Chicken Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I have made this twice now, and it has been delicious both times. A great recipe to use with leftover chicken. Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This recipe is Fan Freakin Tastic!!! I'm not a fan of cilantro so I let that go. As per other peoples suggestions I eyeballed the amount of BBQ sauce and added extra bacon. I went to a local pizzeria and bought pizza dough and let me tell you, it was $2.50 for alot of dough and it was sooooo good, so go to your local pizzeria, i'm sure they sell dough and its worth it, trust me!! I melt some garlic and butter and brushed the tops and added some Italian seasoning and parmesan cheese and when it was almost done I brushed the tops with egg and it came out perfectly!! TRY THIS RECIPE!!. I tried to add a picture, but I keep getting an error, I wish I could show you, I was so proud of myself and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskay629

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because I had to add to and change the recipe. First, I had no idea how much chicken is 3 cups. I used 4 chicken breasts hoping to double this recipe (which it did). I felt the recipe needed some added flavor. I used 1 cup of bbq sauce and 1/4 cup of ranch dressing. Instead of Cilantro, I added 2 tsp of Italian seasonings. After rolling out dough I did not understand why the recipe wasn't written for the dough to be split into 4, so you could actually have 4 individual servings. So, that is what I did. Worked perfectly! I sprinkled dough with onion and garlic powder before I cut it for some extra flavor. This ended up having a wonderful flavor! You could play with the ingredients and make a large variety of different calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This came out great, I added some more cheese than it called for and served it with blue cheese dressing as a dipper, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadelta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Delicious! This recipe was easy to make but a bit labor intensive. It took me twice as long (if not more) to make than the time called for. I used more bacon than called for just because I had it. I also added mushrooms, a couple cloves of garlic, and went ahead and used the whole small onion. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I love a good BBQ Chicken Pizza, you can't go wrong with this recipe for the calzone version. I put two chicken breasts basted with BBQ sauce in the slow cooker with a can of low sodium chicken broth and about a cup of bbq sauce floating in the broth. When it was time to eat I carmalized about half a large red onion, thinly sliced in a Tbs of olive oil and shredded the chicken -- so moist and shreddable out of the cooker, then put it all together. I didn't have mozz on hand, so I used Colby-Jack, which I thought went better anyway. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I used my own crust recipe instead of a pre-made one. I also didn't measure anything and just dumped it all together. They were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Yum! Just finished making and eating this for an early dinner and it was great! Fast, easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was really good and pretty simple. I used whole chicken breasts-cooked and then diced in my veggie dicer-and we also used turkey bacon. We didn't have any "bacon grease" thankfully, since we wanted to keep this on the healthier side. I would absolutely make it again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
My kids LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States