BBQ Chicken Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Let me just say I dont EVER rate recipes on here.. usually for fear of offending someone. With that said, this is absolutely a wonderful recipe! The thing is folks, it tastes just exactly like a bbq chicken pizza, and said pizzas have chicken, red onion, cilantro & cheese. If you don't like bbq chicken pizza its no surprise that you wouldnt like this. I just think it kind of defeats the purpose of making a recipe called "BBQ Chicken Calzones" and then give it a bad rating because you dont like an ingredient. Anyway, thats my two cents. It really is a fool-proof recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
UPDATE: Since initially trying this, I have made it many, many times. I use the WalMart Brand Pizza Dough mix you add water too and Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, I also add some chopped onion before baking, I really think that the cilantro adds an extra dimension to the calzone and shouldn't be omitted (unless of course you don't like it). I have also brushed the crust with butter spread before baking with excellent results. This is an AR fave.6/17/2007:These are delicious and so easy. I made "minis" for a bridal shower and everyone raved. The beauty of this recipe is you can you use whatever ingredients you like (try turkey kielbasa with green peppers, onions, pizza sauce, and fresh basil); the one suggestion I would make is to saute garlic in a pan and brush over calzones before baking, I have also found the cooking time to be a little excessive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Quite good. I did, however, make some changes myself. I used chicken breasts which I had previously grilled to make it a bit healthier. When cooking the onions I also added fresh garlic b/c my husband enjoys garlic in just about everything. I didn't measure the bbq sauce I just used it to the consistency that I liked. Also, I used canned crescent rolls to make the pockets b/c we enjoy anything made out of crescent rolls and I had some in the fridge. Additionally, it takes away a few more calories if you use the low fat crescent rolls, which we did. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This recipe is delicious! I used Kraft's "Brown Sugar" BBQ sauce for a little bit of sweetness and they turned out perfect. These are a new family favourite. One word of caution - frequently check them while in the oven as the cooking time may vary with the pizza dough you use. I used the Pillsbury pizza dough and I had it in the oven for 17 minutes and they almost burned ... but they were still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTSNUT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Delicious! Even better with olive oil drizzle and Parmesan cheese sprinkled on the crust before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Surprisingly delicious! I skipped the cilantro, and used way more barbecue sauce. I wish I'd added more bacon too. Husband wolfed it down, and said he especially enjoyed the crust. He said he'd love to try it with a pepperoni and pizza sauce filling. I made calzones like that before, but with my own pastry crust. They turned out rock hard, and I was really disappointed. I'll definitely be experimenting! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Amazing! Great great flavor. Just like the BBQ Chicken Aussie Pies I used to buy from the market. This one goes in the recipe box! Next time I'll try turkey bacon for a lower fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Awesome! The only thing was, it seemed like a bit too much filling for the calzones, so I ended up using only about 3 quarters of it. But, the extra filling was really yummy just to eat by itself. I did not use any cilantro, just because I don't really like it. Overall, really really yummy, and pretty easy to make. Next time I'll use my own crust though, rather than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was GREAT!!!! I went with others ideas of using more bbq sauce and bacon. I used the 2/3 cup bbq sauce just in mixing the meat together. Then I poured 1/4 cup bbq sauce over the mixture before folding over the pizza crust. It was perfect. I also used 7 pieces on bacon. Other than those changes. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I have fixed this twice. It is easy and tastes wonderful. The second time, I Ieft out the bacon. It was still a huge hit. Both times I used shredded cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States