BBQ Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
tis is a great recipe, I used the one egg as suggested and crackers unstead of bread crumbs. also I did not have garlic so I used garlic powder to desired amount. I also took the advice of "cbean" and made the glaze of brown shugar and BBQ sause and a small amount of ketchup. turned out amazing and my boyfriend even ate it...and he hates meatloaf! -Rebbecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very tasty and moist! I followed the other reviewers and cut down to 1 egg. I also mixed a little ketchup, BBQ sauce and brown sugar together and used it as glaze for the top. My boyfriend couldn't get enough of it! Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tasted great & Moist! I used 1 lb ground beef plus 1 lb ground pork and only 1 egg and it came out perfect. I played with the glaze a little and added ketchup and brown sugar. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
You don't need to form log if you use loaf pan. The wetness described will cook away by adding 10-15 minutes and be really moist. Dryness is biggest complaint of meatloaf. I add cheddar cheese down middle. the best meatloaf I ever ate was cooked in electric skillet if you have one. granny with 50 yrs meatloaf experience
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I enjoyed the change of flavor for meatloaf. It was very tasty, however I'm glad I followed naples review..it would have been way too wet if I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe with a few changes. I have a big family so I used 2 1/2 pounds of meat, used ketchup and BBQ sauce in the meatloaf and also about a tablespoon of hot sauce and omitted the chili powder. I added green pepper to the onion/garlic saute. After wrapping with the bacon I made a topping mixture of BBQ sauce, ketchup, honey and Brown sugar which I rubbed over the top before baking. Turned out awesome. I would have given this 5 stars but you needed some tweeks to make it a really great meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The flavor was good, but I would use 1.5-2 lbs of ground beef, leaving all other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was very different and very good - once some critical changes in measurements were made, at least to please Hubs and me. After decades of meatloaf making :) you grow to recognize how much wet and how much dry ingredients you'll need. The half cup of bread crumbs was just fine (up to 2/3 cup would have been okay), but two eggs and a half cup of barbecue sauce (or milk, or ketchup, or whatever wet ingredient you choose to use) is an amount better suited for two pounds of meat, not one! Also, Worcestershire sauce has a distinct flavor and shouldn't be overdone - half the amount was just right for our tastes - 1-1/2 tsp. I skipped the optional chili powder because I was so enthusiastic about the flavors of BBQ sauce, oregano and Dijon - not to mention the bacon! - and I felt the chili powder would be an unneccessary distraction rather than a positive contribution. I used a meatloaf mix (beef, veal, pork) and added some chopped celery along with the onion - and of course I seasoned this well with salt and pepper. The bottom line is that this was darned good, an interesting change from the usual meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This had a good flavor, but it was way too wet to form into a log. I suggest cutting the egg to one and the bbq sauce to 1/4 cup, or add it little by little. I used 1/2 cup bread crumbs as the recipe said, so maybe more bread would help also. I also cooked the back a little longer before I used it. Not sure if I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States