B Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I don't normally review recipes that I make even if they're really good, but this one I had to. I traded in oil for 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, the brown sugar for Splenda for Baking, and added a banana because the ones I had were pretty small. Usually when I do this, my muffins come out hard and not as moist as the real recipes, but this one came out just AWESOME! I also added 3/4 tsp salt, 1 tblsp cinnamon and a small dash of cloves for more flavour. I will definitely be making this one of my staple recipes. Never have I made a muffin that tasted so delicious (and I make some at least once a week) and had only healthy ingredients. I'm so glad you decided to share your recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I made a few minor changes to make it even more healthy. I used applesauce instead of oil, and used extra blueberries but omitted the nuts. I also used two VERY ripe banana's and egg beaters. I did not have any brown sugar so I used 3 Tbsp vanilla sugar instead. The result was wonderfully moist but could have used a bit more sugar. Next time I'll make sure I have brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I just discovered recently that I love bran. So as soon as I found this recipe, I knew that I had to be the first to try it. I left out the walnuts (my husband hates them) and can't get buttermilk here so I used 2% instead. I had no problem following the instructions except for the fact that the recipe doesn't state exactly when to add the egg, sugar, oil and vanilla mixture to the rest. Anyway, the muffins turned out well and the only reason I'm giving the recipe four stars instead of five is because I think that the texture and taste of the bran would have been better if I had let it soak in the milk for ten minutes, as other bran muffin recipes recommend. Also, I think I might add a little bit of salt next time. One thing I really like about this recipe, though, is the banana flavour, which really goes well with the bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This is a "keeper"! Delicious AND healthy. It does make enough batter to REALLY fill 12 muffins cups, though - I actually got 15 muffins out of it because I was afraid of them overflowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I just pulled these out of the oven and have already eaten two of them. They are sooo good. I used applesauce instead of oil (drain the extra moisture first so it doesn't make your muffins too wet). I also added a 1/2 tsp. salt and extra blueberries. I only had wheat bran so I used that in place of the oat bran. I don't eat a lot of sugar so I thought these were a little too sweet. Next time I might just use 1/2 c. Also, don't be afraid to really fill the muffin cups because these don't rise much. I actually made 18 muffins but they were rather small because I didn't fill them very full. Thanks for such a delicious and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Love these muffins! I reduced the canola oil to 1/4 c. and added another mashed banana as well as 1 tsp. cinammon. They were a hit even with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
What an awesome HEALTHY muffin! I didn't have any blueberries or buttermilk, and so I made sour milk and added an extra banana instead and they came out sweet and moist and my kids and husband loved them. This is the best high fibre muffin recipe I have ever tried. Oh yeah, I also sprinked a few chocolate chips on the muffin tops before baking them. That made them a real bonus with the kids and hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
These were surprisingly good! When I saw the texture as they were coming out of the oven, I thought they were going to be bland and dry, but they were so moist and delicious! Even my picky husband liked them. I actually made 3 mini loaves instead of muffins and baked them for 25 min. I also substitued white flour for wheat and wheat germ for oat bran, becasue I didn't have either ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This can be made into an egg-free version as well by adding an extra Banana and doubling the baking powder. They don't rise as much but it's great for those who don't eat eggs. Also, I used1 1 1/4 C. Blueberries instead and used 4 Tbsp melted butter instead of the oil and added some Cinnamon. The only reason I gave this 4 stars was because I made some changes to accomodate individual tastes, but it's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was excellent. I don't usually rate recipes, but my last muffin experiences were so bad I just had to comment that this recipe works!! I also used 2 bananas, but then it was a bit too sweet. 20mins was perfect baking time and I used chocolate chips on top cuz didn't have bberries and used oats instead of oat bran cuz I didn't have it. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States