B Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very good. I omitted the walnuts and increased the amount of blueberries to 1 cup. I also used 3/4 tsp of vanilla, because the taste goes well with these. It took me a bit of searching to find oat bran, but found it in the breakfast cereal aisle of our supermarket. Took them to work, and got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Amazing! Easy to make as the most delicious gluten-free muffins I've ever had. I used rice bran instead of wheat bran and gluten free flour blend for 3/4 cup flour. Also, for good gluten-free baking add 1 tsp guar or xanthan gum. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Really fantastic (and full of fiber). I could not find wheat bran so substituted wheat germ (didn't taste a difference). I also replaced the oil with applesauce, walnuts with more blueberries, and sugar with splenda. I baked some in a regular size muffin tin and the rest in a mini muffin tin. The results were fantastic! The muffins were moist and the chunks of banana made them just sweet enough. I am definitely going to make these again and will try to add strawberries in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I used the following because it's what I had: I used 1 cup wheat germ instead of 1 1/2 c wheat bran, rolled oats instead of oat bran, 2 small bananas, white flour, and a whole pint of blueberries. I skipped the walnuts, but they would have been good. I sprinkled decorating sugar (large sugar granules)on top before I put them in the oven. They were AMAZING! I froze some of them, and they were still great. I thawed them in the microwave, and then I put them in the toaster oven to make the tops crunchy again! I will definitely make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These are great! I do not even feel guilty eating these! (215 calories per muffin) There is a delicate balance of flavors here and each flavor compliments the other. The banana and blueberries enhance the wheats and brans rather than overpowering the muffin...and vice versa with the wheats and brans complimenting the fruit. This does not taste like cardboard...for those out there who may be skeptic of eating wheatey/braney foods. It is not too bland...not too sweet. Since I found out last year that applesauce can substitue for oil in baking 1:1 ratio, then I never use oil in my muffins, that is the only thing i did different with this recipe. (Side note: substituting apple sauce for oil does not add an appley taste in case you are concerned about that. Also, you can substitue honey for sugar 1:1 ratio in baking...but i did not do that in this recipe, so as to stick as close as possible to the recipe that was posted and give an accurate rating.) Enjoy!! And thanks jayne04 for posting this!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
These were good, but not amazing. I'm not sure I will make them again as there are other muffins I prefer. The banana/blueberry combo is a little strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I was very pleasantly surprised by how good these were! I followed the recipe as much as possible, but had to make some changes. For those who this review may help: I didn't have wheat bran, so I used oat bran. Then, for the 1/2 c. oat bran, I used wheat germ. Used pecans instead of walnuts, and a full cup of frozen wild blueberries. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great Muffins, I didn't have oat bran so used rolled oats, and substituted the oil for applesauce. I bought wheat bran cereal (generic) and ground it up to be used as my wheat bran substitute. My children even liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Hands down the absolute best bran muffin I have ever had. I never write in reviews, but just had to share. I used the recipe as directed, twice now, and next time will try substituting applesauce for the oil. I really enjoy the blueberries, as many bran muffin recipes call for raisins...which can be great, but gets ho-hum after a time.Kudos to jayne04, and many thanks. Enjoy, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These are DELICIOUS! I was able to find both oat bran and wheat bran at my grocery (quite an amazing feat) and forgot to get buttermilk, so I just used regular skim milk. These were enjoyed by all...even my 8 and 3 year olds! Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States